Skip to content

Anthropology: ATS2378 - The Anthropology of International Development

Unit Resources

                 

ATS2378 - The Anthropology of International Development

The resources below are to be used in addition to your prescribed reading and your thematic readings, in order to drive your independent research.

Remember: Use specifically anthropology or development studies resources as much as possible!


Library Tutorial: PowerPoint Library Tutorial: Moodle Lesson ATS2378 Reading List

Books and eBooks to get you started

One of the main resources you will use for you research are books and ebooks. At Monash Uni Library we have +2 million books and +1 million ebooks.

Check out our Top Tips for Library Search and the Books & eBooks page of this guide for more tips!

Remember: Use Advanced Search for serious research!


 

Search
          

  Advanced search | Sign in | A-Z ejournals | Databases


   Books vs eBooks  

Q: What the difference between using a books or using ebooks for my assignment? 

A: None! One is online, and the other is in your hand, but they're both great academic sources.


Did you know?


means the item is on the shelf in the Library

means the item is available online

Ethnographies

Finding ethnographies can be a key way to get more information, or to focus your topic to one particular place, people, and/or issue. We have few tips to direct you in your search in the Finding ethnographies tab at the top of this Guide, but here are a few general books to start you off.


 

Key Databases

Our databases are full of thousands of searchable journal articles. What you can find on Library Search is only a small fraction of what's in the databases! 

The databases listed below are likely to have good content for this unit. You can find a larger list of relevant databases on the Anthropology, International Development, and related pages of Databases A-Z.


 

Multidisciplinary:

Anthropology:

Development:

Open Access content:


 

Streaming Video & Films

Our three main streaming video platforms have thousands of films and documentaries. Have a look through each of them to see what you can find around your topic.


 

News & News Sources

One of the best ways to get a feel for the local reaction or regional feel around an issue is to look through news articles.

Here are our largest online newspaper databases. For more, click on the News & Newspapers tab at the top of the Guide.


 

Websites

The key to using websites for academic work is to make sure that you're evaluating your sources carefully, and only choosing to use those you feel are valid and reliable.
The Evaluating Webpages QuickGuide from Research & Learning Online (RLO) can help.


 

Need some help?

Did you find this page helpful for your assessments in ATS2378?
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
Somewhat: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0