Skip to content

Anthropology: Websites

Websites

You may find official and authoritative websites of use in your research and study. This page has a selected list of websites relevant to your subject area.


 


Many subject areas at Monash maintain official Twitter accounts and/or Facebook pages. These are a great way to find out what's happening in your field of study.

Websites

  • CSAC's Ethnographics Gallery
  • British site, includes fieldwork, research projects, Anthropological Index Online, CSAC Social Anthropology Bibliography, A database of UK PhD theses from 1970, an extensive list of resources for Anthropologists and a good set of links to other relevant sites.
  • Anthropology Resources on the Internet
    Produced by the American Anthropological Association, lists discussion groups, journals, bibliographies meetings and other relevant resources. However it also covers Archaeology extensively. Probably more than 50% of the site links to Archaeology resources. An award winning site and a useful resource.
  • Public Anthropology: Anthropology Journal Archive Project, by Robert Borofsky. Article database with abstracts. This site contains summaries of articles in the American Anthropologist (1888-2000) and Current Anthropology and Human Organization are in progress. These are done by University students under the guidance of academics. It also contains an ejournal , writings by distinguished anthropologists , a Photo gallery and a list of outreach programs by Anthropology Departments at some US Universities. The site aims to engage Anthropologists beyond the walls of academia to foster social change. The journal archive can be searched by keyword to pull up pertinent articles.
  • AusAnthrop 
    AusAnthrop is an on-line database on Australian Aboriginal tribes, nations, languages, and dialectal groups. It is a reference database that should help to find a tribe or language from the many alternative names and spellings used in the literature. The database contains alternative names, some places of location, bibliographic references, a links to archival files at the South Australian Museum, linguistic classifications such as those by the SIL (Summer Institute of Linguistics) and the AIATSIS (Australian Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies), as well as the name given in EAA (Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia). User can leave comments for each tribe or language, and more anthropological information will be added soon.
  • AIATSIS- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies.  The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) is the national research and collecting institution for information and research about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, past and present. Hold a priceless collection of films, photographs, video and audio recordings and the world’s largest collections of printed and other resource materials for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies-  Collection catalogue MURA
  • University of Hawaii Sinclair Library (videos) - Since March 2009 Sinclair Library has been digitizing many of its older VHS videos, with a focus on material in the Hawaiian and Pacific collections. These are now available online via video streaming.
  • The Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research, Inc. is a private operating Foundation that is dedicated to the advancement of anthropology throughout the world. Through programs of funding for research projects, conferences, symposia, fellowships, and publication, the Foundation aids basic research in all branches of anthropology and closely related disciplines concerned with human origins, development and variation.