Skip to content

Architecture: ARC2402

Introductory guide to print and electronic resources for Architecture and Interior Architecture students.

Library catalogues - Monash Library

Use library catalogues to search for books.

Tip: Searching for the name of a building may be problematic - while the building may feature in a book it won't necessarily be part of the title. Library catalogues index authors, titles, subject headings and sometimes tables of contents (not the full text of books).

If you have no success searching for the name of a building, broaden your search to the architect and then, if necessary, to the subject area.

For example if ICI house = 0 results; search for Bates Smart and McCutcheon

If Block Arcade = 0 results; search for melbourne architecture

The library catalogue at Monash University is called Search.

Search

A Basic Search will retrieve a range of material - books, articles, multimedia

Tip: To limit your search to books select:

search-box-books

Use Advanced Search to search in the subject field.

subject-search

Try searching in subject for these terms:

Architects Australia

Architecture Australia

Architecture Modern  Australia

Architecture Victoria

Architecture modern 19th century

Architecture modern 20th century

Architecture modernism

Architecture Victoria 19th century

Arts and crafts movement

Art nouveau

Historic buildings Melbourne

Public buildings Victoria

Browse the shelves

720.994 - Australian Architecture

720.9945 - Architecture in Victoria

720.99451 - Melbourne Architecture

Resources for Melbourne Dossier

Resources for other Australian states

Apps

Sound of buildings -  vol. 1  & vol. 2

The Sound of Buildings is an audio exploration of Melbourne’s most architecturally significant buildings. Available free as an interactive iPhone and iPad app, The Sound of Buildings provides listeners with a deeper level of understanding and context for the selected buildings, as well highlighting Melbourne’s diverse architecture and urban spaces through an exploration of cultural, monuments, government, residential, commercial, transport, education, health and sporting projects.

Melbourne's lost 100 

Imagine Melbourne as it used to be. Lost! 100 Lost Buildings of Melbourne is an interactive app that uses augmented reality to enable you to visually overlay buildings from the past onto the present.

Transforming the Yarra

Transforming the Yarra is a multimedia walking tour celebrating the development of Melbourne’s Yarra River precinct since the 1980s from a post industrial wasteland to the centre of Melbourne’s public life

Library catalogues - other libraries

TROVE-LOGO

Trove is the National Library of Australia's bibliographic database - it holds records for all books in all Australian libraries. A search in Trove will also retrieve resources such as digitised Australian newspaper articles, journal articles, pictures and photographs, music and video, maps, diaries and letters.

Trove tells you which libraries hold which books (including books held in the Monash libraries). Trove cannot tell you if a particular book is out on loan so you may wish to search local catalogues for that information.

uni-melb-catalogue Use the University of Melbourne catalogue to search for books at The Architecture, Building and Planning Library  which is relocating to the Eastern Resource Centre (ERC) in July 2012 until the completion of the new Architecture building and library.
state-library-victoria State Library of Victoria. Search for books, maps, images. The Library's collection of historical architectural drawings, correspondence files and specifications are held in storage and can be viewed by appointment in the Heritage Collections Reading Room.

Borrowing from other libraries

caval

The CAVAL Reciprocal Borrowing Program is a scheme whereby staff and students of participating academic libraries are able to borrow material from other participating Victorian academic libraries. You must register and obtain a CAVAL card from your home library (Monash University Library, Caulfield) *before* you go to another university library.

Featured books

Image databases for international buildings

Monash Library subscribes to these two image databses

Monash University buildings

MONPIX - online image database. Images of Monash buildings.

Denton Corker Marshall. "Monash University Caulfield Campus, Stage 1." Transition 44/45, (1994): 114-121. Caulfield Library Serials 720.5 TRA

Web sites