Architecture: Urban planning research

Introductory guide to print and electronic resources for Architecture and Interior Architecture students.

Browse the shelves

You will find books on level 1 of the Caulfield Library. For particular titles or books on a topic Search the library.

Or, browse the shelves at these numbers:

307.12 Planning communities

Finding books

Use these subject headings to Search the library eg "architects and community"

citizen participation

city planning


environmental indicators

human ecology

human geography

regional planning

social policy

sustainable development

urban planning

urban policy

urban renewal


Finding journal articles

You can use Search to find some journal articles. However for a more comprehensive search, use an Architecture database:

Key databases
Avery index to architectural periodicals - is the key database for architecture - indexing more than 1,000 journals published worldwide in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, urban planning and historic preservation.

Databases for Architecture - a list of all architecture databases available from Monash Library

Some databases will provide the full text of articles, others will provide only the abstract or summary.

Other useful databases
Australian Public affairs - indexes Australian publications such as:
Australian planner
Australian social policy
Journal of population research
Just policy: a journal of Australian social policy
eople and place

Taylor and Francis Online - provides full text of the following journals:
Australian planner
International planning studies
Journal of cultural geography
Journal of urban design

IngentaConnect - provides full text of the following journals
Design studies
Energy and buildings

SAGE journals online
Environment and behavior
Environment and urbanization
Journal of urban history
Urban studies

City, culture and society
Habitat international
Landscape and urban planning

Scopus  - citation searching

Environment, development and sustainability
Journal of housing and the built environment

Wiley Online Library
Architectural design
City and community
City and society: journal of the Society for Urban Anthropology

International journal of urban and regional research

International development planning review
Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link:

Expanded Academic
Architectural science review
Ethics and the environment

PION Journals
Environment and planning A
Environment and planning B: planning and design
Environment and planning D: society and space

Oxford journals
Community development

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Journal of architectural and planning research
Places (Ceased with vol. 21, no1 Spring 2009)

Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as Urban Affairs Review, Urban Studies, Journal of Urban Affairs. Links to full text sources are available when Monash University Library holds a subscription.