Browse the shelves
ThesesUsing EndNoteAlert services
This is the "Home" page of the "Australian Indigenous Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Australian Indigenous Studies   Tags: aboriginal, australian, indigenous  

Resources for students of Australian Indigenous Studies and assistance with essay writing and academic learning skills
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.monash.edu/australian-indigeneous-studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Indigenous student services


Monash University support for current and prospective indigenous students

 

Learning skills help

Learning skills advisers assist students in improving their academic language and approaches to learning, including:

  • academic English
  • study methods and exam preparation
  • effective listening and note-taking
  • problem-solving and critical thinking
  • reading strategies
  • essay, report and thesis writing
  • writing for research projects
  • oral communication and presentation

Learning skills advisers:


Assignment writing

 

The Library has more than you think!

The Library has much more than study books eg the Music and Multimedia collection has items relevant to your course - documentaries, films and music. The database TVNews has TV Broadcasts of all key news and  current affairs programs.

Informit Edu TV  provides  access to 10,000 programs; includes  searchable database ofdocumentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing functional

  

The Library is your portal to the information multiverse.

 

Manamidh mirrambiina ngangalinga (Welcome)

Australian Indigenous Studies is taught at the Clayton campus.The historical, social and political aspects of Australian Indigenous societies are studied including current Indigenous issues and debates on matters of national importance such as land rights and reconciliation,  and the historical and contemporary relationships between Indigenous Australians and the wider society

. Depending on your topic you may also need to refer to resources in these related pages.

Related guides: Anthropology; Art History; Holocaust and genocide studies; Politics; Sociology; Women's and gender studies

 

Library help

Librarians can help you with:

  • how and where to start researching your topic
  • effective use of databases and the internet
  • finding and evaluating information
  • using the Library's collections

Contact librarian:

Library tutorials

Search Help: how to find library resources

 

A traditional map

Museum Victoria

Lake Condah Possum Skin Cloak, before 1872, (image courtesy of Museum Victoria, Indigenous collection)

 

Important links

Monash links

Victorian links

National links

International Links

 

Featured source

 

The ten most popular research publications from Policy Online's Indigenous section published in 2013, based on the number of page visits according to Google analytics.The most popular Indigenous reports in 2013 focused on health issues, and on the limited progress so far in achieving the Closing the Gap targets.

 

2012 Boyer Lectures   The Quiet Revolution: Indigenous People and the Resources Boom

presented by Professor Marcia Langton AM, Chair of Australian Indigenous Studies at The University of Melbourne.

Black Australian literature : a bibliography of fiction, poetry, drama, oral traditions and non-fiction, including critical commentary, 1900-1991 / Heinz Schurmann-Zeggel. New York : P. Lang, c1997 - Held at Caulfield, Gippsland and Matheson Libraries at A829.09 S394B

 

The National Gallery of Australia Aboriginal Memorial

The Aboriginal Memorial is an installation of 200 hollow log coffins from Central Arnhem Land. It commemorates all the indigenous people who, since 1788, have lost their lives defending their land. The artists who created this installation intended that it be located in a public place where it could be preserved for future generations.This site has interesting information about Arnhem land artists and clans.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip