Indigenous Cultures & Histories: Databases & Journal Articles

Monash University Library resources for students of Indigenous Cultures & Histories.

Databases

Monash University Library offers students and researchers access to thousands of huge databases of academic literature and research information. 

Along with books, the academic journal articles you find in these databases are the best and most reliable resources to reference in your assessments.


Browse databases:

Loading

Grey Literature & Open Access

Grey literature is a large category of information, usually broadly defined as material not published by traditional book or journal publishers, from government documents to conference proceedings to maps, statistical surveys, and theses and dissertations.


 


Open Access materials are free for all to use online. They can be anything from peer-reviewed journal articles and books to theses, conference papers, and more. 


 


More information on Open Access:

Journals

Loading ...

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is another way of searching Monash University Library resources.

If you use the link below (or the links in Library Search and the A-Z Databases page) to access Google Scholar, you'll be able to use the Check for full text link to go straight to many of the articles contained in the Monash University Library databases.


 Google Scholar shouldn't be the only place you search, but it can be a good place to start.


Pros of Google Scholar   Cons of Google Scholar   
  • Generally only shows you reliable, authoritative, academic material
  • Gives you interdisciplinary results, so a single search can reach across topics well
  • Turns up a large amount of results, every time
  • You're able to use the familiar Google interface
  • Checks your spelling!
  • Only finds a small subset of the material available on Library databases and in Library collections
  • Often misses very important articles in a subject area
  • Broken links and repetitive results are common
  • The large number of results can be overwhelming and hard to sift through
  • Requires a strong knowledge of advanced Google searching skills to do complex searches

 

Did you know?

  • You can use  to view top journals in your field. 
  • You can use  to save and store articles you find on Google Scholar
  • Using  will notify you of new articles you might be interested in when they become available.
  •  can help you create some citations, but be careful! They might not be accurate. Always check them against the Citing and Referencing Guide or the manual of the referencing style you're using.
  • You can add the Google Scholar Button to Chrome to help you search quicker while online.
  • If you are published, you can create an Google Scholar author profile to see the impact of your work