Biotechnology: Google Scholar

Provides information and selected resources relevant to biotechnology

Useful links

Google Scholar and linking to full text

You can set preferences in Google Scholar to display the Monash 'Check for Full Text' link in your search results. Follow the instructions to set up Check for full text links in Google Scholar.

If you access Google Scholar via the link on our Databases page this option will already be set up for you.

Google Scholar and EndNote

To get GS records into your EndNote Library go to Google Scholar preferences and select EndNote in the 'Bibliography Manager' section to create links to export citations into EndNote.

Note: Citation import from Google Scholar can sometimes be inaccurate. Please check them carefully.

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a subset of Google which searches specifically for scholarly material on the web. A wide range of academic quality documents (especially journal articles) and data (eg detailed company financial data, market research and analysis) are only accessible from the Library’s databases but searching Google Scholar can be a useful supplement to the databases.

Strengths:

  • Useful when searching "Grey Literature" : conference proceedings, government reports, official statistical data (eg from the Australian Bureau of Statistics), transcripts and recordings of radio and TV broadcasts
  • Enables interdisciplinary searches
  • Accesses multiples types of documents (articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, transcripts etc)
  • Helps identify who is publishing in particular areas of research
  • Results are ranked by relevancy
  • Coverage is strongest in science, technology and medicine.

Tips:

  • Choose Advanced Scholar Search for greater flexibility in designing your search
  • Develop and use a search strategy, as you would when using a library database (see tab 'Searching effectively'). A systematic search strategy will help you to be focused and time-efficient
  • When searching for information from the Australian government, specifying the domain: gov.au will restrict the search to only Australian government sites. To limit to Australian university sites, type: edu.au

Image of Advanced Google search screen limited to gov.au

  • Identify organizations that are recognised authorities on your topic, and visit their websites
  • When you have found a useful site, check if it provides links to related sites, which are likely to provide information of a similar quality
  • Critically evaluate the quality of material found on the internet. For details on evaluating internet information add link
  • Save or print pages you find useful, they may change or disappear. A printout should also include the URL and the date you viewed the page, which you will need for referencing.
  • Try other search engines in addition to Google (Yahoo, DogPile etc). The database of each search engine can represent only a part of the total content of the Internet, so using more than one search engine can widen your search. Read the specific search engine’s online Help to be familiar with its particular features. For information on various search engines see: Recommended Search Engines UC Berkeley - Teaching Library Internet Workshops, http://lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/SearchEngines.html

Example

Topic: Find information from the government on the impact of climate change on rural communities in Victoria.

Possible search strategy:

victoria and climate change and (rural communities or rural towns)

  • except for the exact wording or phrase box, enter a phrase with quotation marks,

eg “rural towns”, “rural communities”

  • the search is limited to Australian government sites, gov.au

Google Advanced Search screen showing keywords entered for the above search