Communications and Media: Using Google Scholar

Searching tips

Use the tips in the following document to improve the accuracy and effectiveness of your Google Scholar search

Useful links

Google Scholar and Endnote

Go to Google Scholar Settings and select EndNote in the 'Bibliography Manager' section to create links to export citations into EndNote. 

Note: citations can sometimes be inaccurate. Please check them carefully

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a subset of Google which searches specifically for scholarly material on the web.

Where is it?

The best place to access Google scholar is from the Library databases page.

This access provides links to Monash Full text online resources

 

When would you use it?

Google Scholar is a useful supplement to database research, but you should use the Library's databases as well. It doesn't include all articles and other materials indexed in Library databases  It locates journal articles, theses and dissertations, books, conference papers and other research material from a variety of sources including academic publishers, professional societies, institutional repositories and database. 

 

Strengths:

 

  • Useful when searching "Grey Literature" such as conference proceedings
  • Enables interdisciplinary searches
  • Accesses multiples types of documents (articles, books, conference proceedings)
  • Helps identify who is publishing in particular areas of research
  • Relevance ranking makes searching on some  topics more effective
  • citation information is included

Be aware that:

  • Content is not always equivalent to the scholarly or peer-reviewed content in databases
  • We do not know exactly what is included,  so there may be gaps
  • Citations can be incomplete, and can only be exported one at a time

Full text linking

Search results display

If you access Google Scholar from the Library Databases page you will see the  'check for full text' option

  • Check for full text link next to a title shows that the full text is available electronically.
  • Check for full text link below a record (and its details) show that the full text may not be available electronically. Use this link to check the Monash University Library catalogue for electronic access or a print copy

Acknowledgement: content above derived from Multisearch Check for full text links in Google Scholar help