Skip to content

Information Technology: Finding Books

Tips for students of information technology

Using Search

Search indexes the combined collections of all Monash University Libraries.

There are over 3.2 million items in the library's collection, including

  • 2.1 million books
  • 85,000 print and electronic journals
  • 420,000 electronic books
  • 1100 networked electronic databases

How to decipher call numbers

An explanation of:

  • what a call number is
  • how they are created
  • how to use one to find a book

What is a call number?

Call numbers are a classification system which allow books, journals and othe items relating to the same subject to be located together. They consist of a series of predetermined numbers and letters which are generally stuck to the spine or front of each item.

Monash University Library uses the Dewey Decimal Classification system for its call numbers except:

  • The Law Library uses a variation on the Moys legal classification system.
  • Clayton campus libraries use Dewey variations for Philosophy and older literature materials.

What do the parts of a call number mean?

Call numbers are basically divided into two parts:

  • subject classification: series of numbers that represent the subject area
  • author classification: series of letters and/or numbers that represent the author or title of the information

Some call numbers have a third part for the year of publication or extra author information.

Here is the call number for Spacetime Physics by Edwin F. Taylor, and John Archibald Wheeler, and what the parts describe:

In the Hargrave-Andrew Library
530.11 T239S Subject: 530 = Physics .11 = Relativity Theory
Author: T239 = Taylor S = Spacetime
In Caulfield Library
530.11 TAY Subject: 530 = Physics .11 = Relativity Theory
Author: TAY = Taylor

 

How do I use a call number to find an item?

It is important that you note down all of the call number, and which part of the Monash collection the item is held in. Then you need to find each part of the number in turn.

For example to find the book: Understanding Enzymes, by T. Palmer (call number 547.758 P176U4):

Call number structure

  1. Locate the first three digits.
  2. Locate any digits following the decimal point. Remember that it is a decimal system, so 547.8 comes after 547.75.
  3. When you have located the number in full, look for the letter, then the next set of numbers.
  4. Check that the last letter and number are correct, to make sure you have the right book and edition.

Some common problems in looking for items

If you can't find an item:

  • make sure you have written down the whole number
  • make sure that you have located the entire number, including all the digits after the decimal point
  • check that you are looking in the correct site or collection
  • look for prefix letters before the number (eg F = folio (large books), Mos = maths, NZ=New Zealand etc)
  • note that some collections (eg Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), Microfiche) have their own numbering system
  • check that the item is not already on loan to someone else

Why aren't the call numbers consistent?

Sometimes call numbers seem very inconsistent, both inside and outside Monash. The reasons for this include:

  • Over time call numbers allocated to some subjects have been inadequate or knowledge has changed, eg advances in computing have caused many changes.
  • Book may be classified in different ways - for example a book entitled  Discrete Maths for Computing could be classified as a maths book, or as a computing book.
  • Monash Library is made up of a number of previously separate libraries. These libraries all had their own cataloguing procedures interpretations for the Dewey system. The Library has now standardised these procedures.
  • Some Monash collections have been catalogued differently to reflect specialist needs, eg Law and Philosophy

Summary

Key points to remember when deciphering call numbers:

  • items on the same topic are shelved next to each other
  • every part of the number is important for finding an item
  • work through the number systematically to find the item it describes
  • call numbers vary between libraries - make sure you have the right one

  Electronic books

A number of electronic books relevant to Information Technology studies are available via Search

Do a Basic search and refine by Books in the Resource Type facets and Full Text Online in the Show Only facets on the left-hand side of the search results screen.

More titles can be searched in Ebook library and EBook collection : EBSCOhost.

Subject headings

The most efficient way to locate material in the library is to use Search.

To find items by subject in Search use Advanced Search, select in subject from the first drop down menu and enter relevant terms. Alternatively, do a Basic search and refine by subject using the Topic facets on the left-hand side of the search results screen.

The following are examples of subject headings and the call numbers assigned to them:

Communications and network architecture 004.65
Computer systems 004
Computer programming 005.1
Data communications 004.6
Data security 005.8
Databases 005.74
Distributed processing 004.36
Distributed processing - communications 004.6186
Information storage and retrieval systems 025.04, 025.06
Information Technology project management 004.0684, 658.404
Information Technology in organizations 658.4038
Interfacing and communications 004.6
Local-area networks 004.68
Multimedia systems 006.7
Operating systems 005.43
Systems analysis and design 004.21
Systems programming 005.4
Wide-area networks 004.67