Skip to content

Information Technology: Finding journal articles

Tips for students of information technology

Finding journal articles

Academic journals report the ongoing research and debate in an academic discipline.

Using journal databases you can simultaneously search large collections of journals to find articles relevant to a particular topic.

Journals may also be referred to as serials or periodicals. These terms also include newspapers and magazines.

Does Monash hold this journal?

In Search logo

  • select Advanced search
  • in the first dropdown box, select in the title
  • in the search box, type the journal name
  • for Material Type, select Journals
  • click Go

Click the Get it  tab for print versions information such as location/call number and availability.

Click the View Online tab (if available) to view information (ie date range information) for electronic version.

 

What are peer reviewed journals?

Peer reviewed (or refereed) journals contain journal articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field before being published.

To check if a specific journal is peer reviewed, you could use Ulrichsweb.com.

The ERA rankings

  Use ERA journal and conference rankings to determine the relative quality of journals and conference proceedings, and a link to the relevant sections of John Lamp’s database of ERA rankings.

Key databases

Databases provide access to the contents of journal articles, conference papers, these, patents and other information sources. They form the basis of, or add greater depth to your research. Most of databases provide links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. Content not available in full text online may be held in the library in hard copy.

Databases allow keyword searching of article titles, abstracts, and subject headings / descriptors.

These databases are useful starting points

ACM Digital Library: Full-text journals and proceedings of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) since the 1950s.

AIS electronic library (AISel) Provides access to ten highly regarded information systems journals and access to AIS conference proceedings.

Business Source Complete: This business database also covers business related ICT academic and professional literature.

Expanded Academic ASAP: This  interdisciplinary database covers a range of academic and professional literature related to ICT.

IEEE Explore: Comprehensive covearage of IEE and IEEE publications including journals, transactions and conference proceedings since 1994. Includes all current IEEE Standards.

ProQuest Computing: Wideranging coverage of academic and professional literature in the ICT discipline. Also includes product reviews.

The databases page for Information Technology has more than sixty databases that provide a range of online resources for ICT students, academics and researchers.

 

Database About the database
Business Source Complete

Coverage: all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

  • Date range: 1886 to present
  • Publication types:  journal articles, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses
  • Search options: one of the easy and effective way to refine searches is to use the options listed through the Refine your results box to the left of the results list.
  • EndNote: how to download records to EndNote
INSPEC

Coverage: electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering.

  • Date range: 1969 onwards, plus backfile 1896-1968
  • Publication types: information technology journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports, theses
  • Size: 4000 engineering journals and 2000 conference proceedings
  • EndNote:how to download records to EndNote
Scopus

Coverage: a database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature

  • Date range: 1960 to present
  • Publication types: Journal article, Conference article, Short survey from Trade journal, Patent, Open access journal article, Web source
  • Full-text icon: The View at Publisher icons provide access where the library holds a subscription. Access may not be available to all articles
  • Search options: click the Cited by button to view a list of documents which cite the document in your search results
  • EndNote: how to download records to EndNote
Web of Science

Coverage: provides access to bibliographic information and and cited references in a broad range of disciplines. Although not its primary strength, it can be useful for cross disiplinary searching.

  • Date range: 1900 to present
  • Publication types: journal article, conference paper, reviews, news item, and editorial material
  • Full-text icon: the Full Text icons provide access where the library holds a subscription. Access may not be available to all articles.
  • Search options: one of the easy and effective way to refine searches is to use the options listed through the Refine Results box to the left of the results list.
  • EndNote: how to download records to EndNote

Full-text journal collections

Full-text journal collections allow keyword searching of articles, abstracts, subject headings/descriptors, and the full-text of articles as well.

Key journal collections

Collection About the collection
ACM Digital library full text collection of journals and proceedings published by ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) since the 1950's. Subjects include: automotive engineering, electronic engineering, and electrical engineering.
IEEE Xplore a full-text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering provided by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and The Institution of Engineering and Technology.

More collections

Collection About the collection
AIAA meeting papers

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics devotes to the progress of engineering and science in aviation, space and defence. This searchable database comprises AIAA's flagship technical papers from 1963 to present.

Annual Reviews

provides full-text access to journals in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences through critical authoritative reviews.

This series includes Annual Review of biomedical engineering, Annual review of fluid mechanics, Annual review of Environment and resources, and Annual review of nuclear & particle science.

Informaworld the specialist publications of Taylor & Francis.
ScienceDirect offers scientific, technical and medical information online published by Elsevier. It inincludes peer-reviewed journals, book series, and reference works.
Scitation provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics as well as American Society of Mechanical Engineers journals.
SPIE Digital Library

In 1955 SPIE was founded as the Society of Photographic Instrumentation Engineers. From 1977 the Society is known as SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering.

The Digital Library publishes over 100 ebooks, six refereed journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually. Subject areas include optics, photonics, and imaging engineering.

SpringerLink provides full-text access to Springer journals and book series. Subject coverage includesengineering, and mathematics.
Wiley InterScience provides full-text to Wiley journals, e-books, and major reference work.Subject coverage includes engineering, medicine and science.