Law: Other States & Territories

Resources for legal research and writing, including guides to broad areas of law.

New South Wales

Acts and Regulations

Print

  • Acts, 1824 to present
  • Reprinted Acts, no longer updated
  • Rules, regulations and by-laws, 1917 to 2009
  • Reprinted regulations, no longer updated

Annotations and references (NSW), 1824-1988 (Level 1)

Statutes, tables (NSW), 1824-1969 (Level 1)

Acts and ordinances of the Governor & Council, 1844-1852 (v. 1 and v. 3 only) (Level 1)

Imperial statutes in Force (Bignold), 1913 (v. 2 and v. 3 only) (Level 1)

Incorporated Acts, 1925-1942 (Level 1)

Explanatory notes for Bills, 2008 (Level 3, Law Library Store)

Public statutes, 1824-1895 (Level 1)

Online

NSW Legislation (Parliamentary Counsel's Office)
Official site - provides online access to current and historical NSW legislation.

Weekly bulletin (Parliamentary Counsel's Office)
Summary of legislative activity, including a list of bills introduced and passed, gazetted information such as acts assented to, proclamations and regulations and a list of reprinted Acts and Regulations.

Bills and EMs

Bills, 1976 to 1999

Explanatory Notes, 2008 to present (Level 3, Law Library Store)

Bills (Parliament of NSW)

NSW Consultation drafts (Parliamentary Counsel's Office) full text of draft Bills.

Parliamentary debates (Hansard)

Hansard & House Papers - NSW Parliament 1824 - current

Comprehensive index to all parliamentary documents available online

Gazettes

New South Wales 2001-current

NSW Government Gazettes: 1836 to 1839 (digitised on Victorian Government Gazette site)

 

Tasmania

Acts and Regulations

 Print

  • Acts, 1826 to current
  • Reprinted Acts, no longer updated
  • Statutory rules, 1954 to current

Indexes to the Legislation (TAS), Current issue (Level 1)

Public general Acts, 1826-1936

Online

Consolidated Legislation
Tasmanian Government Legislation Online

Tables of, and information guides to, Tasmanian legislation

Office of Parliamentary Counsel

Bills and EMs

Tasmanian Bills, 1966 to 2001

Bills currently before Parliament (Parliament of Tasmania)

Parliamental debates (Hansard)

Tasmania

Tasmania, 1979-1991

Gazettes

Tasmanian Government Gazette 2008-current

Queensland

Acts and Regulations

Print

  • Acts, 1828 to present
  • Reprinted Acts, no longer updated
  • Regulations, 1975 to present

Public Acts, 1828-1936 (Level 1)

Queensland Legislation Annotations, 1992-2011 (Level 1)

Online

Consolidated and Numbered Acts and Regulations
Office of the Queensland Parliamentary Counsel

OzCase - Queensland Historical Legal Collection
Commencement legislation 1793-1867 (for Queensland); Lands legislation 1833 - 1910 (for Queensland); Criminal Code 1899 Queensland : preparatory and extrinsic materials; Letters Patent establishing the boundaries of Queensland (includes Proclamations, Legislative Assembly resolutions, maps etc); Public Acts of Queensland 1828-1936; Local Personal & Private Acts of Queensland 1828-1936

Bills and EMs

Queensland Bills, 1974 to 1999

Bills and Explanatory Notes (pdf) (Office of the Queensland Parliamentary Counsel)

Parliamentary debates (Hansard)

Queensland

Gazettes

Queensland Government Gazettes (2003 to current) - search or browse in Publications

Queensland Government Gazette 1859-1900 (digitised)

South Australia

Acts and Regulations

Print

  • Acts, 1837 to present
  • Reprinted Acts, no longer updated
  • Regulations, 1968 to present

Tables of South Australian Acts, regulations and rules (Level 1)

Online

South Australian Legislation (Office of Parliamentary Counsel)
Current and historic versions of Acts and Regs, Bills (from 2005), Acts and Regs as made (from 2003)

Acts of the Parliament of South Australia 1837-1900
A complete collection of South Australian Acts and Ordinances 1837 - 1900, searchable by keyword, title and date has been created by linking a legislation index to digital copies of the acts.

Subject Index to South Australian Legislation
Created by the Australian Law Librarians' Association (South Australian Division)

Bills and EMs

South Australian Bills, 1990 to 2004

Bills (South Australian Legislation)

Indexes to Bills and Motions (Parliament of South Australia)

Parliamentary debates (Hansard)

South Australia

Gazettes

South Australian Government Gazette

South Australian Government Gazette (online) 1999-current

South Australian Government Gazettes 1839-1918 - digitised (AustLII)

Northern Territory

Acts and Regulations

From 1863-1911, the Northern Territory was part of South Australia, and a number of laws were passed specifically applying to the Territory; some South Australian laws are still in force. From 1911 until self government in 1978, the laws of the Territory were made by Acts of the Federal Parliament or by Ordinances made by the Governor-General. The laws of the Northern Territory are now made by the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly, though some powers are still reserved to the Commonwealth Parliament.

Print

  • Acts, 1961 to 2010; lacks 2009
  • Reprinted Acts, no longer updated
  • Regulations, 1911 to 2007, 2010; incomplete
  • Bills, 1990 to 1999

Ordinances, 1911-1960

Online

Current Northern Territory Legislation Database

Northern Territory Legislation History Database

Register of Legislation (including Bills)

Parliamentary debates (Hansard)

Northern Territory

Gazettes

Northern Territory 1997-current

Western Australia

Acts and Regulations

Print

  • Acts, 1832 to current
  • Reprinted Acts, no longer updated
  • Regulations, 1980 to current

Online

Western Australian Legislation
Provides access to current and point in time consolidations of Western Australian legislation. As well as viewing section by section, it is possible to download a whole piece of legislation. There is also access to amending acts and regulations, the statutes index, as well as the WA Government Gazette and WA Industrial Gazette.

Index to Statutes
(State Law Publisher, WA)

Legislative Tables Index
(State Law Publisher, WA)

Bills and EMs

Western Australian Bills, 1990 to 2007

Bills (Parliament of Western Australia)

Parliamentary debates (Hansard)

Western Australia

Gazettes

Western Australian Government Gazette 1916 - Current

 Browse Gazette Indexes (PDF) (1891 to 2014)

Australian Capital Territory

Acts and Regulations

Print

  • Acts, Ordinances and Regulations - 1911 - current
  • Reprinted Acts, no longer updated
  • Reprinted Regulations, no longer updated

Online

ACT Legislation Register
Official site - the legislation register was established by the Legislation Act 2001. It provides electronic access to new and up-to-date ACT legislation in both authorised and unauthorised formats.

Bills and EMs

Summary of Bills & Bills List (ACT Legislative Assembly)

Parliamentary debates (Hansard)

Australian Capital Territory

Gazettes

Australian Capital Territory Gazette 1989-current