Skip to content

Japanese studies: Postgraduates

Guide to resources for students of Japanese language and culture

More databases

Join National Library of Australia to be eligible for using the following Japanese databases. In order to access these databases, get a library card

National Library of Australia: eResources home

Japan Knowledge Plus NRK

Reference tool portal on Japan. It contains a wide variety of encyclopaedias and dictionaries, including both historical and contemporary sources. Dictionaries on languages.

Asahi Shimbun - Kikuzo II visual for libraries

A newspaper database for Asahi Shinbun, one of the major newspapers in Japan. It covers from the first issue in 1879 to the current issue. It also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera, Shukan Asahi, and from the annual new-word encyclopaedia Chiezo for recent years.

Bungei Kurabu

A Japanese literary and historical journal published from 1895-1912 by Hakubunkan. Contains articles on Japanese performing arts, cultural history and literature. The site provides full text and images of all issues, and also searchable access (although not full text) to the journals 'Taiyo' and 'Daiichi koto gakko koyukai zasshi'.

Research support

Access to a world of information

The Library has extensive print and online resources. Research staff and students also have access to the Document Delivery Service through which you can request material not available at Monash.

Suggest a purchase

We encourage you to recommend material to add to the Library’s collection to support your research. Discuss this with your contact librarian, Ayako Hatta (Matheson Library) or fill in the suggestion form.

Promoting your research

Monash University Research Repository is a central store for University research outputs. Electronic copies of doctoral theses, for example, are held there.

Monash University Publishing uses new technologies to publish the University’s research activities. You may wish to consider publishing your work online and in print with Monash University Publishing.

For more information go to Enabling your research

Bonsai

 


Image courtesy of deshow.net.