Skip to content

Japanese studies: Newspapers

Guide to resources for students of Japanese language and culture

Prints

Two major Japanese language newspapers are available in print as 縮刷版 in Asian Studies Research Collection, Matheson Library.

See also the Newspapers library guide.

- Akahata, shukusatsuban (Tokyo, Japan)

Location: Matheson Library Asian Studies Research: Japanese Serials 079.52 N691.1A
no. 409 (Jan. 1995) - no. 414 (Jun. 1995) ; no. 418 (Oct. 1995) - no. 468 (Dec. 1999)
Notes: Japanese language
- Asahi shinbun (Tokyo, Japan)
Location: Matheson Library Asian Studies Research: Japanese Serials 079.52 A798
no. 283 (Jan. 1943) to no. 330 (Dec. 1948) ; no. 559 (Jan. 1968) to present
Location: Matheson Library Music Multimedia Microfilm 5924
1888-1896.
Notes: Japanese language
- The Chūnichi shinbun [Daily]
Full text available online via Factiva (01/05/2003- Current)
Notes: Japanese language
- Daily Yomiuri
Full text available online via Factiva (Web)
Full text available online via NewsBank  (27/7/2001-31/03/2013)
Notes: English
- Dengon Net – Japanese Newsletter Victoria
Location: Matheson Library Asian Studies Research: Japanese Serials
Dec. 2004 – present
Notes: Japanese language
Current web issue
- Han genpatsu shinbun
Location: Matheson Library Asian Studies Research: Japanese Serials 363.1799 H233
no. 201 (Dec. 1994) - no. 285 (Dec. 2001), no. 287 (Feb. 2002) to present
Notes: Japanese language
- International Herald Tribune-Asahi Shimbun
Full text available via Newsbank (22/12/2001- Current)
Notes: English
- The Japan times international (Tokyo, Japan) [Weekly]
Location: Matheson Library Newspaper Store
v. 1, no. 1 (Jun. 1961) – v. 40, no. 6 (Mar. 2000)
            The Japan times weekly (international ed.) 1961-1987
            The Japan times (weekly international ed.) 1987-1990
            The Japan times (weekly overseas ed.) 1990-1998
            The Japan times international 1999-2000
Full text available via ProQuest  (04/03/1991-31/03/2000)
- The Japan Times (Tokyo, Japan) [Daily]
Location: Matheson Library Newspaper Store
1957-1967
Location: Matheson Library Serials 079.52 J35.1
1968 to present
Full text available online via NewsBank (01/01/1999- Current)
Available at: Japan Times Archives  (1897 until 2014)
Notes: English, Includes index in monthly bound edition
- Mainichi shinbun (Tokyo, Japan)
Location:  Matheson Library Asian Studies Research: Japanese Serials 079.52 M217
no. 535 (Jul. 1994) - no. 630 (Jun. 2002)
Full text available online via Factiva (01/05/2002- Current)
Notes: Japanese language
- Nihon keizai shinbun. shukusatsuban (Tokyo, Japan)
Location: Matheson Library Asian Studies Research: Japanese Serials 330.952 N691
v. 46, no. 7 (Jul 1994) - v. 54, no. 6 (Jun 2002), v. 56, no. 1 (Jan 2004) - present
Notes: Japanese language
- The Nikkei weekly (Tokyo, Japan)
Location: Matheson Library Newspaper Room: Current 6 months
Location: Matheson Library Serials 330.952 J35.3
v. 12 (1974) – v. 23 (1985)
Location: Matheson Library Music Multimedia Microfilm 5683
v. 23 (1985) – v. 32 no. 1652 (1995)
Location: Matheson Library Newspaper Store
v. 32 no. 1653 (1995) – v. 36 (1998), v. 38 (2000) – v. 43 (2005)
Full text available online via Factiva (13/05/2002- Current)
Notes: Continues The Japan economic journal
- Sankei shinbun
Full text available online via Factiva
Osaka-ban (01/05/2004- Current), Tokyo-ban (21/01/1997- Current)
Notes: Japanese language
- Tosho shinbun
Location: Matheson Library Asian Studies Research: Japanese Serials 028.06 T714
no. 891 (1967) – no. 1403 (1977) (incomplete)
Notes: Japanese language
- Yomiuri shinbun shukusatsuban (Tokyo, Japan)
Location: Matheson Library Asian Studies Research: Japanese Serials 079.52 Y54
no. 431 (July 1994) to no. 526 (June 2002)
Full text available online via Factiva (01/01/2002- Current)
Notes: Japanese language

Onlines

Use online databases to search by keywords and more articles in newspapers.

Database instructions