Skip to content

Korean Studies: Home

A comprehensive guide for users of all aspects of Korean studies.

Useful links from Monash

Korean studies, Arts Faculty
Monash University Library
Asian Collections, Matheson Library
my.monash
Monash Asia Institute
Asian Libraries in Melbourne (ALIM)
Information kiosk

Get help from the Library

ask.monash
• Phone: +61 3;9905 5054
• contact librarians or learning skills advisors

Finding Korean Resources


Do you have any feedback/comments?
Feedback 

Scope


Manhwaru at Chŏnju/Jeonju Hyanggyo (萬化樓, 鄕校) in Korea. Hyanggyo is a government-run provincial school during Koryŏ/Goryeo Dynasty and Chosŏn/Joseon Dynasty. Photo by JS Kim, 2012.

The Korean collection is housed in the Asian Collections, Matheson Library, Clayton Campus. The collection focus is on social sciences, particularly economics and politics, and on the history, language, architecture and music of Korea. The collection includes many Korean videos and DVDs. Archival materials and older newspapers are held on microfilm and microfiche. English language materials for Korean studies are held throughout the library.

Contact librarianJung-Sim Kim (Matheson Library)

Librarians assist students with:

  • how and where to start researching your topic
  • effective use of databases and the Internet
  • finding and evaluating information
  • using the Library's collections
  • located at a drop-ins, by appointment or online.

Learning skills adviser: Anne Holloway (Matheson Library) or find a Learning skills advisers 

Learning skills advisers assist students in improving their academic language and approaches to learning, including:

  • academic English
  • study methods and exam preparation
  • effective listening and note-taking
  • problem-solving and critical thinking
  • reading strategies
  • essay, report and thesis writing
  • writing for research projects
  • oral communication and presentation
  • located at a drop-ins.

Some sites on Korea

Republic of Korea

Law

Media releases

Statistics and economy