Skip to content

Public Relations: Monash resources

This guide provides Library resources for students and staff in Public Relations

Search

Search books, articles and more…

Go to: Basic search | Advanced search | Sign in

Search for Library resources

Go to Search or bookmark this URL : http://www.lib.monash.edu.au/search/

Basic search

  • type one or more terms, choose collection from drop down list, click 'Go' and then limit result set using the facets in the left panel
    • All resources: includes past exams, ARROW, individual articles plus 'Library collections'
    • Library collections: physical resources in the libraries plus electronic books, journals, databases, digitised readings
  • Search looks for allthe words you type unless OR or NOT (Boolean operators) are placed between words and phrases
    • Boolean operators must be capitalised otherwise they are treated as search terms
    • use NOT to exclude unwanted terms eg fish NOT chips
    • enclose phrases in quotation marks eg "global warming"
    • use parentheses to group terms eg cosmology (Aztec OR Egyptian)
  • wildcard characters permit variant endings and spellings to be searched
    • ? use a question mark for a single character wildcard search eg type wom?n for records that contain the strings woman, women, etc
    • * use an asterisk for multiple character wildcard search eg type cultur* for records that contain strings eg culture, cultural, and culturally

Advanced search

Offers more features for precision searching and reducing the initial result set. The search form assists you to construct Boolean and more complex searches. Parameters which can be set include:

  • Publication Date:
  • Material Type: choose from
    • All items
    • Articles
    • audio cds
    • Audio Visual
    • Book Chapters
    • Books
    • Databases
    • Datasets
    • DVDs
    • Images
    • Journals
    • Lectures Online
    • Loose Leaf
    • Maps
    • Past
    • Exams
    • Patents
    • Reading Lists
    • Scores
    • Theses
    • Web Sites
  • Language:
  • Search Scope: choose from
    • All resources
    • Library collections

Online Tutorial - requesting resources