Skip to content

Multimedia and Digital Arts: 3D, animation and games

Resources and learning skills support for students of multimedia and digital arts

Featured books

Click on the title link to see the library record for these books. Tip: once you see the record, click the Locations tab.

e-books

Click on the title link to access the book online:

Browse the shelves

Browse the shelves at these numbers on these subjects:

  • 005 computer programs eg Dreamweaver
  • 006 computer graphics eg Flash
  • 006.6 Animation computing
  • 519.3 Game theory
  • 621.388 Digital video communications
  • 621.3893 Digital audio technology
  • 741.58 Animation design
  • 794.8 electronic games 

Databases

You will retrieve some journal articles from 'Search' however for a more comprehensive search of the journal literature you will need to search an electronic database.

Access to databases is provided by Monash University Library for staff and students. You can access databases, through the library database page, from anywhere and anytime, using your Authcate login.

Some relevant databases for Multimedia and Digital Art are:

 

Web links - Australia

Web links - international

Lynda.com: Learn new skills

lynda

Lynda.com is a constantly growing library of more than 1400 courses and instructional 82,000 videos in streaming video format. Subjects covered range from 3D + Animation; Audio; Business including Office and Google software; Design; Developer; Photography and Video; and Web and social media. Videos use screenshots, narration, live action, smart boards, charts and graphics, audio and include captioning.

Did you know?

digital-tutors-logo

Caulfield Library holds many Maya training cds from digital-tutors. They are located in the multimedia collection on level 3 and shelved in the cd sequence (after the videos and before the dvds).

Try:

Featured DVDs

gnomon-workshop-logo

Check out the Gnomon Workshop dvds - at call number 776 at both Caulfield and Berwick Library multimedia collections.

Featured games

Maya on Youtube

There are excellent tutorials on modelling, shading and animation in Maya on youtube