Tourism: Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar


Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly information produced by academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organisations, such as

  • peer-reviewed papers
  • theses
  • books
  • abstracts
  • articles

Google Scholar is a subset of Google which searches specifically for scholarly material on the web. 

It locates journal articles, theses and dissertations, books, conference papers and other research material from a variety of sources including academic publishers, professional societies, institutional repositories and databases.

Its coverage is strongest in science, technology and medicine.


  • Useful when searching "Grey Literature" such as conference proceedings
  • Enables interdisciplinary searches
  • Accesses multiples types of documents (articles, books, conference proceedings)
  • Helps identify who is publishing in particular areas of research
  • Results are ranked by relevancy

Be aware that:

  • Content is not always equivalent to the scholarly or peer-reviewed content in databases
  • Difficult to perform a specific search with precise results
  • Gaps in coverage - a lot of information is not freely available on the web
  • Citations can be incomplete, and can only be exported one at a time

When using Google Scholar to conduct your research, you must remember to set your preferences so you are able to access articles held by Monash University Library, without being asked to pay a fee.

If you are using an on-campus computer to access Google Scholar, you will be automatically signed in via the Monash network and do not need to make any further changes.

If you are accessing Google Scholar from an off-campus location, you will need to sign in manually – the easiest way to do this is to connect to Google Scholar from the library’s databases page (or though the appropriate links on this page).

The other option is to change your Google Scholar settings yourself:

-       Click the Settings link on the Google Scholar Homepage
-       Search for Monash in the Library Links search box
-       Tick the checkbox for Monash University – Check for Full Text
-       Click Save to change your settings


From the displayed search results, you will quickly be able to determine if a resource is available to you by looking for 'Check for Full Text' next to the title of an article. PDF copies of articles may also be available directly through resources affiliated with Monash:

Go to Google Scholar settings and select EndNote in the 'Bibliography Manager' section to create links to export citations into EndNote. 

Please Note: Citations can sometimes be inaccurate. Please check them carefully.

Use the tips in the following document to improve the accuracy and effectiveness of your Google Scholar search

  • Google Scholar is a useful supplement to database research, but you should use the Library's databases to search for the high quality information that will be the basis of your research. The library's databases provide access to more comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date information, and enable users to include better limits on searches for more precise results
  • The library has a MultiSearch database that, like Google Scholar, enables you to search multiple databases and catalogues simultaneously and link to full text journal articles
  • Try other search engines in addition to Google to widen your search. For information on various search engines see: Recommended Search Engines UC Berkeley - Teaching Library Internet Workshops
Loading ...