Tourism: EndNote

Managing citations and references

It is important that you understand how citations and references are used in academic writing. The library has produced an online guide to citing and referencing which includes examples of different types of references and styles.

Getting Started with EndNote - Guides

EndNote comes with a Getting Started Guide, which contains a range of detailed instructions for using EndNote.

  • Access the guide in PDF format by clicking Start ► All Programs ► EndNote ► Getting Started Guide
A range of online videos, tutorials, and guides can be accessed and downloaded on EndNote's Training Page.
 
 
 
Monash University Library has also created a number of EndNote guides.

Getting Help with EndNote

For help with EndNote, you can first search the EndNote Help menu (shortcut key: F1), which covers a range of topics.

You can also access EndNote's Support Page, which contains guides, FAQs, contact information, and allows you to ask EndNote's user Community for help.

Crandon Services, the Australian Distributor of EndNote Software, may also be able to help.

 

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a database tool which:

Stores bibliographic details of the material that you have read for your assignments and theses
Imports details of material that you have found, in the library catalogue and other databases and catalogues
Automatically Creates citations, references and bibliographies for your assignments in your required style
Supports and/or Integrates with common word processor and file formats

How can I install EndNote?

Monash University has a site license for EndNote, and current Monash University staff and students are permitted to install a copy of the program on their home computers, laptops, or iPads (you will need to register for EndNote online).

Get the latest version of EndNote for your PC or Mac here.

Getting Started with EndNote - YouTube

There is a dedicated EndNote YouTube account, which has a range of useful training video clips.

Basic Tutorial: How to Use EndNote in 5 Minutes: Windows

EndNote Classes at the Library

Library staff run regular EndNote training workshops classes during semester.

Tourism students can register for EndNote for Arts classes via the Online Class Booking System.

For general EndNote help you can ask a librarian at your local branch of Monash University Library.

For specific advice on using EndNote for Tourism, contact:

  • Janet McGarry (Caulfield)