Emergency Health: Library Search

How to find information, materials, and people that will enable more effective study of Emergency Health

Search terms

MeSH terms:

emergency medical services

emergency medical technicians

emergency treatment

emergency medicine


air ambulances

first aid

military medicine


Text terms:

prehospital OR pre-hospital



out-of-hospital OR out of hospital

ems OR emergency medical service*

emt OR emergency medical technician*

emergency technician*

emergency dispatch*

emergency despatch*

first responder*

public access defibrillation

emergency rescue

emergency resus*

emergency triage

advanced life support

community support co-ordinator

community support coordinator

emergency care practitioner

extended care practitioner

physician assistant

Smith et al.: The development of an updated prehospital search filter for the Cochrane library: Prehospital search filter version 2.0


Call numbers

611 Anatomy
612 Human physiology
613 Promotion of health
614 Incidence and prevention of disease
615 Pharmacology and therapeutics
616 Diseases
      616.025 Prehospital & emergency care
617 Surgery and related medical specialties
618 Gynecology and other medical specialties
619 Experimental medicine

Search for Library resources

Basic search

  • type one or more terms, choose collection from drop down list, click 'Go' and then limit result set using the facets in the left panel
    • All resources: includes past exams, ARROW, individual articles plus 'Library collections'
    • Library collections: physical resources in the libraries plus electronic books, journals, databases, digitised readings
  • Search looks for all the words you type unless OR or NOT (Boolean operators) are placed between words and phrases
    • Boolean operators must be capitalised otherwise they are treated as search terms
    • use NOT to exclude unwanted terms eg fish NOT chips
    • enclose phrases in quotation marks eg "global warming"
    • use parentheses to group terms eg cosmology (Aztec OR Egyptian)
  • wildcard characters permit variant endings and spellings to be searched
    • ? use a question mark for a single character wildcard search eg type wom?n for records that contain the strings woman, women, etc
    • * use an asterisk for multiple character wildcard search eg type cultur* for records that contain strings eg culture, cultural, and culturally

Advanced search

Offers more features for precision searching and reducing the initial result set. The search form assists you to construct  Boolean and more complex searches. Parameters which can be set include:

  • Publication Date:
  • Material Type: choose from
    • All items
    • Articles
    • audio cds
    • Audio Visual
    • Book Chapters
    • Books
    • Databases
    • Datasets
    • DVDs
    • Images
    • Journals
    • Lectures Online
    • Loose Leaf
    • Maps
    • Past
    • Exams
    • Patents
    • Reading Lists
    • Scores
    • Theses
    • Web Sites
  • Language:
  • Search Scope: choose from
    • All resources
    • Library collections

Go to Search or bookmark this URL : http://search.lib.monash.edu/

How to decipher call numbers

An explanation of:

  • what a call number is
  • how they are created
  • how to use one to find a book

What is a call number?

Call numbers are a classification system which allow books, journals and othe items relating to the same subject to be located together. They consist of a series of predetermined numbers and letters which are generally stuck to the spine or front of each item.

Monash University Library uses the Dewey Decimal Classification system for its call numbers except:

  • The Law Library uses a variation on the Moys legal classification system.
  • Clayton campus libraries use Dewey variations for Philosophy and older literature materials.

What do the parts of a call number mean?

Call numbers are basically divided into two parts:

  • subject classification: series of numbers that represent the subject area
  • author classification: series of letters and/or numbers that represent the author or title of the information

Some call numbers have a third part for the year of publication or extra author information.

Here is the call number for Spacetime Physics by Edwin F. Taylor, and John Archibald Wheeler, and what the parts describe:

In the Hargrave-Andrew Library
530.11 T239S Subject: 530 = Physics .11 = Relativity Theory
Author: T239 = Taylor S = Spacetime
In Caulfield Library
530.11 TAY Subject: 530 = Physics .11 = Relativity Theory
Author: TAY = Taylor


How do I use a call number to find an item?

It is important that you note down all of the call number, and which part of the Monash collection the item is held in. Then you need to find each part of the number in turn.

For example to find the book: Understanding Enzymes, by T. Palmer (call number 547.758 P176U4):

Call number structure

  1. Locate the first three digits.
  2. Locate any digits following the decimal point. Remember that it is a decimal system, so 547.8 comes after 547.75.
  3. When you have located the number in full, look for the letter, then the next set of numbers.
  4. Check that the last letter and number are correct, to make sure you have the right book and edition.

Some common problems in looking for items

If you can't find an item:

  • make sure you have written down the whole number
  • make sure that you have located the entire number, including all the digits after the decimal point
  • check that you are looking in the correct site or collection
  • look for prefix letters before the number (eg F = folio (large books), Mos = maths, NZ=New Zealand etc)
  • note that some collections (eg Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), Microfiche) have their own numbering system
  • check that the item is not already on loan to someone else

Why aren't the call numbers consistent?

Sometimes call numbers seem very inconsistent, both inside and outside Monash. The reasons for this include:

  • Over time call numbers allocated to some subjects have been inadequate or knowledge has changed, eg advances in computing have caused many changes.
  • Book may be classified in different ways - for example a book entitled  Discrete Maths for Computing could be classified as a maths book, or as a computing book.
  • Monash Library is made up of a number of previously separate libraries. These libraries all had their own cataloguing procedures interpretations for the Dewey system. The Library has now standardised these procedures.
  • Some Monash collections have been catalogued differently to reflect specialist needs, eg Law and Philosophy


Key points to remember when deciphering call numbers:

  • items on the same topic are shelved next to each other
  • every part of the number is important for finding an item
  • work through the number systematically to find the item it describes
  • call numbers vary between libraries - make sure you have the right one