Medicine: MUDRI

Guide to information resources and services for Medicine, including basic and clinical sciences.

Monash University Disaster Resilience Initiative (MUDRI)

Suggest a purchase!

Found something you think we should have in our library collection? You are encouraged to recommend material to support your research. Fill in the suggestion form or email your contact librarian Penny Presta.

See a selected list of books on disaster resilience on the right of this page.

Use Search to look for print and electronic books.


  Advanced search | Sign in | A-Z ejournals | Databases

The Ebooks library guide has all you need to know about accessing and using ebooks available at Monash University.

Postgraduates and Staff can utilise the library's Document Delivery service to request items that are not available in the Monash University Library collection.

The Theses Library Guide has information on searching for and accessing Monash, Australian, and international theses.

A selection of journals available via the Library:

Quartile 1 titles (2015)

Quartile 2 titles (2015)

To learn more about peer review see the quick tutorial below.

Newspaper article databases:

  • Factiva full text of major Australian and selected international newspapers.
  • Newsbank newspapers full text of local, regional and national newspapers, plus international titles.

Systematic review databases:

To search databases effectively you must first formulate a search strategy. See the database search strategy online tutorial for a guide to this process.


Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly information produced by academic publishers and professional organisations in a range of areas, including medicine.

Instructions on how to set up Check for full text links in Google Scholar are available at the link below.

Grey literature is information which has been published informally or non-commercially, or remains unpublished. It can appear in many forms, including government reports, statistics, patents, conference papers and even non-written resources such as posters and infographics.

Grey literature is not usually peer-reviewed, but may still be good, reliable information.

See the PHCRIS Introduction to Accessing the Grey Literature and the HLWiki page on grey literature for a more detailed overview. They are aimed at medical researchers but are relevant to anyone searching for grey literature.

The University of South Australia has a comprehensive Grey Literature guide.

Grey Literature sources include:

The following databases contain conference proceedings which are another form of grey literature.

Academic research on the internet is a set of e-modules created as a guide to when research on the internet might be useful, how to search effectively and evaluating the sources you find.

This Evaluating the reliability of sources tutorial created by a Learning Skills Adviser will enable you to identify the key features of good quality academic sources. Approximate time required - 15 minutes.

Reading and note taking

Efficient reading and note taking skills are also essential when writing assignments.

To develop these skills, check out these resources

Guides to Systematic Reviews

A systematic review is a review of the evidence that uses transparent and systematic methods to define a research question, search for all relevant studies, and critically appraise and synthesise the findings. The explicit, systematic methods minimise bias and enable verification and reproducibility of the process of answering the question.

See the:

Example Systematic Review

Pega, F., Liu, S. Y., Walter, S., & Lhachimi, S. K. (2015). Unconditional cash transfers for assistance in humanitarian disasters: effect on use of health services and health outcomes in low‐and middle‐income countries. The Cochrane Library.

Guides to Scoping Reviews:

Scoping reviews may approach broader topics or research questions in areas with a varied body of applicable literature. They may determine core issues, working definitions, gaps in the literature, or map the theoretical boundaries of a field.

Example Scoping Review

Challen, K., Lee, A. C., Booth, A., Gardois, P., Woods, H. B., & Goodacre, S. W. (2012). Where is the evidence for emergency planning: A scoping reviewBMC Public Health12(1), 1.

Guides to Integrative Reviews:

Integrative reviews may summarise and synthesise the existing literature, including a combination of different methodological studies, to add to or improve the understanding of particular aspects or issues in healthcare.

Example Integrative Review

Warsini, S., West, C., Ed, G. D., Res Meth, G. C., Mills, J., & Usher, K. (2014). The psychosocial impact of natural disasters among adult survivors: An integrative reviewIssues in Mental Health Nursing35(6), 420-436.

Reading  A typology of reviews:

Software for managing citations and associated files. Freely available for Monash University students and staff via an institutional subscription.

EndNote integrates with common word processors. (Windows and Mac versions available).

Loading ...