Skip to content

Chinese studies: Collections outside the library

A comprehensive for students of all aspects of Chinese studies.

Borrowing from other Libraries

The CAVAL Reciprocal Borrowing Program is a scheme whereby staff and students of participating academic libraries are able to borrow material from other participating Victorian academic libraries.

How do you obtain a CAVAL card?

In order to particpate you must first register in the Reciprocal Borrowing Program. This must be done at Matheson Library, Loans counter. You will be given a CAVAL card which is valid until the last date shown on the card.

If you wish to enrol at a library after the date shown has passed, you must have your CAVAL card re-authorised. Simply take it back to Matheson Library, Loans counter and provided you are still in good standing, your card will be re-authorised. You may do this as often as is necessary throughout the year.

How do you enrol at another library?

Proceed to a service desk with your current CAVAL card and your home institution ID card. The staff will enrol you on the library system and attach a barcode label to your CAVAL card. Check the detailed information available at your home library for any special requirements before visiting another library. If you need assistance with using an unfamiliar library ask at the service desk.

Be sure you understand and observe the regulations at any library from which you borrow. Some restrictions apply to certain services and collections; check before you visit. Return all materials by the due date to the library from which you have borrowed them.

How to search other libraries?

Libraries and library catalogues you can search for individual library catalogue and locate the item.

Libraries Australia provides access to the national database of material held in Australian libraries. You can search for any item and locate which library in Australia holds it.

LibraryLink Victoria search the combined catalogues of Victorian public libraries, eight academic libraries and a selection of state libraries, including the State Library of Victoria

Trove

Search Trove for items held in Australian libraries.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Digital Library offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. It contains over 12 million items, with over 3 million in the public domain and available as full text.

Worldcat

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.

Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts

The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 6,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks.

Europeana

Search Europeana, a multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.


World Digital Library

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress and makes available significant primary material from all countries and cultures.


Project Gutenberg