Skip to content

Indonesian Studies: News and Media

A comprehensive library guide for researchers and students of all aspects of Indonesian Studies

Online media

Newspapers

Magazines

Television and radio

Other news sources

  • Indonesia Publications
    One of the most complete news sources for Indonesia. View current postings in any of the five 'apakabar' mailing lists or search any of the three 'apakabar' databases containing all postings from these lists. Use keywords of your choice in English or Indonesian.
  • Inside Indonesia
    Quarterly English language print magazine. The internet edition contains selected articles, provides an index to recent editions, a database of past articles, a news digest, and information on how to subscribe to the print version.
  • KITLV Daily Report
    ceased updating but has list of sources

      Newspaper holdings in print

      Monash has very strong holdings of Indonesian newspapers in print and microfilm, including many historical newspapers. These are listed at 

      Newspaper databases

      The following databases provide searchable full-text of articles in English-language newspapers from Indonesia, including Jakarta Post.

      The Sultan of Ternate Guard

      Image courtesy of the Bridgeman Education database. B&W photo 1974.

      Digitised newspapers

      Historische Kranten

      Historical Dutch newspapers digitised by the Royal Library, The Hague

      NIOD Indonesian Newspaper Project

      A collection of digitised Indonesian newspapers from the 1930s and 1940s

      New Books from Indonesia

      Two specifically interesting Indonesian new books have arrived at the ASRC to enrich our Indonesian collection:

      1. Opera Indonesia, a novel by Joko Santoso HP

      2. Pramoedya Menggugat Melacak Jejak Indonesia, a book by Prof Koh Young Hun analysing and exploring the world of Pramoedya through his works