Skip to content

French Studies: Society & politics

Library resources and tutorials for students of French

Featured: Le débat

Histoire, politique, société. Established in 1980 by Marcel Gauchet and Pierre Nora, this bi-monthly periodical leads discussion and critical analysis in contemporary society. The Library is pleased to make accessible in full text, every issue back to 1980, via Cairn.info.

Le debat

Go to Le Débat.

Sage Reference Online is one of the best resources for politics and governance reference sources on France. Some of the titles are highlighted below. In addition, the OECD iLibrary database provides country statistical data, and the Economist Intelligence Unit's Viewswire database provides political, economic, business and financial analysis for France.

International encyclopedia of political science

International Encyclopedia of Political Science

Sage handbook of comparative politics

The SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics

21st century political science

21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook.

Sage handbook of European studies

The SAGE Handbook f European Studies

Main economic indicators France

OECDiLibrary: France,Country Statistical Profile.

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Report France

Economist Intelligence Unit. Country Report, France.

Library Search gives you access to books on politics and society located in library or available online. See the sample search below:

Library search

Que faire?

Que faire? Alain Badiou & Marcel Gauchet, 2014. (French ed.)

What is to be done?

What is to be done? Alain Badiou & Marcel Gauchet, 2014. (English ed.)

Thinking radical democracy

Thinking radical democracy : the return to politics in post-war France. Martin Breaugh, Christopher Holman et. al. 2015.

A small selection of online journals available for French politics and society. The covers will take you to the journal detail in Search. To go to the journal articles, click on View it and select one database. To search across a wide selection of journals, use one of the recommended databases in the next tab.

French journal

French politics, culture & society (online)

Politix

Politix (online)

French Politics

French politics (online)

La Revue de L'IRES

La revue de L'IRES (online)

Pole Sud

Pole Sud: revue de science politique (online)

Le Monde Diplomatique

Le monde diplomatique (online)

 

Search online databases to get access to high quality scholarly content.

CAIRN.INFO

CAIRN.INFO is the major new online research database for French Studies. It contains publications in the French language available online in full text in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.

Postgraduate students and staff may ask for content to be made available in CAIRN, by contacting the French Studies subject librarian.

Go to CAIRN.INFO.

ProQuest

ProQuest is an interdisciplinary database including scholarly and news content. French newspaper Le Monde is available here, as well as many French language journals. It hosts the Political Science and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts databases.

Go to ProQuest.

The Conversation

The Conversation (France), more a portal than a database, is a new information online media and analysis site for independent news, which publishes articles written by mainstream researchers and academics.

Go to The Conversation (France).

 

 

Common call numbers

The best way to find materials on France and in French in the library is to use Search.
The following Dewey numbers may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves.

Number Subject
016.44 French language - Bibliography
016.8405 French literature - Bibliography
034.1 Encyclopedias and dictionaries, French
320.944 French politics and government
443 French language - Dictionaries
445 French language - Grammar
709.04 French art - Modern 20th Century
759.4 French paintings - Modern 20th Century
791.430944 French cinema
840 French literature
840.914 French literature - 20th century
840.03 French literature - Dictionaries   
843.914 French fiction - 20th century
849.1 [French literature in other countries] The number is preceded by a letter for the name of the country, eg French Canadian literature C849.1
944 France - History
971.4 Quebec - History

 DVDs and videos are held at 791.4372 in the Music and Multimedia collection of the Matheson library (Clayton) and  at Caulfield library.

Loading