Skip to content

French Studies: Language & linguistics

Library resources and tutorials for students of French

Featured: Le Grand Robert & Collins

Now accessible online. English-French, French-English.

To access this resource online, simply click on the image below, click 'View It' then 'view full text'.

Go to Le Grand Robert & Collins,

Language & linguistics resources

Library Search gives you access to both print and e-books on language and linguistics. The search below shows how to find library books on the subject of French language or linguistics:

Language and linguistics search

A selection of e-books are available on French language and grammar:

French grammar and usage

Hawkins & Towell (2015) French Grammar and Usage.

Practising French grammar

Hawkins, Towell & Lamy (2015) Practising French Grammar: a workbook.

French grammar in context

Jubb (2014) French Grammar in Context.

Speed up your French

Jubb (2016) Speed up your French.

Below is a small selection of online journals available for French language and linguistics. Click on a cover to go to the journal detail page in Search.

To get into the journal articles, click on 'View it' and then login to a database (such as CAIRN.info). To search across a wide selection of journals, use one of the recommended databases in the next tab.

Le Francais Aujourd'hui

Le Francais Aujourd'hui (2001-)

Langue Francaise

Langue Francaise (2004-)

Journal of French Language Studies

Journal of French Language Studies (1991-)

Langages

Langages (2004-)

Travaux de Linguistique

Travaux de Linguistique (2001-)

Contemporary French Civilization

Contemporary French Civilization (1976-)

 

As opposed to academic journals, there are several magazines which give access to the latest news and culture while introducing new vocabulary and testing your French skills:

Le Francais dans le Monde

Le Francais dans le Monde (only available in print from 2000 on)

L'Express

L'Express (only available in print from 2004 on)

 

Search online databases to get access to high quality scholarly content.

CAIRN.INFO

CAIRN.INFO is the major new online research database for French Studies.
It contains publications in the French language available online in full text in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.

Postgraduate students and staff may ask for content to be made available in CAIRN, by contacting the French Studies subject librarian.

Go to CAIRN.INFO.

ProQuest

ProQuest is an interdisciplinary database including scholarly and news content.
Many French language journals are available in its Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts database.

Go to ProQuest.

Web of Science

Yes, Web of Science. This behemoth database hosts the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, which includes top level linguistics content.

Go to Web of Science.

 

 

Common call numbers

The best way to find materials on France and in French in the library is to use Search.
The following Dewey numbers may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves.

Number Subject
016.44 French language - Bibliography
016.8405 French literature - Bibliography
034.1 Encyclopedias and dictionaries, French
443 French language - Dictionaries
445 French language - Grammar
709.04 French art - Modern 20th Century
759.4 French paintings - Modern 20th Century
791.430944 French cinema
840 French literature
840.914 French literature - 20th century
840.03 French literature - Dictionaries   
843.914 French fiction - 20th century
849.1 [French literature in other countries] The number is preceded by a letter for the name of the country, eg French Canadian literature C849.1
944 France - History
971.4 Quebec - History

 DVDs and videos are held at 791.4372 in the Music and Multimedia collection of the Matheson library (Clayton) and  at Caulfield library.

Loading