Skip to content

French Studies: Literature

Library resources and tutorials for students of French

Featured: Contemporary Authors Online

Use Contemporary Authors Online to find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.

Contemporary Authors Online

Go to Contemporary Authors Online

Sources of literature

Cambridge Companions Online gives you access to cross-searchable e-book collections on literature and classics. This is an invaluable source of information on major French authors, a small selection of which are listed below:

Cambridge Companion to French Literature

Cambridge Companion to French Literature (2015)

The Literature of Paris

Cambridge Companion to the Literature of Paris (2013)

Medieval French Literature

Cambridge Companion to Medieval French Literature (2008)

Voltaire

Cambridge Companion to Voltaire (2009)

Cambridge Companion to Proust (2001)

Emile Zola

Cambridge Companion to Emile Zola (2007)

Library Search gives you access to French literature and criticism available in library whether in print or online.

Search for Michel Houellebecq

French literature prize winners:

2016 prize winners

2015 prize winners

2014 prize winners

2013 prize winners

Below is a small selection of online journals available for studies in French literature. The covers will take you to the journal detail in Library Search. To go to the journal articles, click on View it, select one database and login using your Monash account. To search across a wide selection of journals, use one of the recommended databases in the next tab. 

Australian journal of French Studies

Australian journal of French Studies (online)

Litterature journal

Littérature (online)

RLC journal

Revue de littérature comparée (online)

L'Information litteraire

L'Information littéraire (online)

Litteratures classiques

Littératures classiques (online)

French Studies Bulletin

French Studies Bulletin (online)

cairn.info

CAIRN.INFO is the major online research database for French Studies.
It contains publications in the French language available online in full text in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.

Postgraduate students and staff may ask for content to be made available in CAIRN, by contacting the French Studies subject librarian.

Literature Online

Literature Online is a leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English with significant content in French literature. It is a collection of poetry, prose and drama, provides criticism and reference resources, including a library of full-text journals and author biographies. It incorporates the MLA International Bibliography and links to other sources for full text, such as EEBO, JSTOR and Project Muse.

Common call numbers

The best way to find materials on France and in French in the library is to use Search.
The following Dewey numbers may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves.

Number Subject
016.44 French language - Bibliography
016.8405 French literature - Bibliography
034.1 Encyclopedias and dictionaries, French
443 French language - Dictionaries
445 French language - Grammar
709.04 French art - Modern 20th Century
759.4 French paintings - Modern 20th Century
791.430944 French cinema
840 French literature
840.914 French literature - 20th century
840.03 French literature - Dictionaries   
843.914 French fiction - 20th century
849.1 [French literature in other countries] The number is preceded by a letter for the name of the country, eg French Canadian literature C849.1
944 France - History
971.4 Quebec - History

DVDs and videos are held at 791.4372 in the Music and Multimedia collection of the Matheson library (Clayton) and  at Caulfield library. 

Loading