Skip to content

French Studies: Cinema & art

Library resources and tutorials for students of French

Featured: Kanopy Films

Kanopy

Kanopy is a streaming video service giving you access to more than 26,000 films, documentaries, and theatrical releases in the arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Watch numerous archival and current films relevant for French studies.

Browse Subjects> Film & Popular>Foreign Language Film>French Cinema.

Go to Kanopy.

Film and Art resources

Finding important background information about French art or cinema is easy with access to Oxford Art Online and the French Cinema Bibliography. 

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online gives you access to Grove Art Online and Oxford art references including Oxford Companion to Western Art, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Go to Oxford Art Online.

Oxford bibliographies

The French Cinema bibliography is an invaluable research resource for the literature review listing general works, anthologies, key journals, filmmakers, specific genres, periods including 'new wave', and film culture and theory.

Go to Oxford Bibliographies: French Cinema

Library Search gives you access to both print and e-books on French art and cinema (motion pictures is the best subject term to search on). The search below shows how to find library books:

Search Art France Search motion pictures France

Selected books:

Painting Musee d'Orsay

Stéphane Guégan (2011) Painting: Musée D'Orsay.

Decorative furnishings and Objets d'Art in the Louvre

Musée du Louvre (2014) Decorative furnishings and objets d'art in the Louvre : from Louis XIV to Marie-Antoinette.

French Cinema a critical filmography

Crisp, C. (2015) French cinema : A critical filmography, Vols 1&2.

Companion to contemporary French cinema

Moine, Radner, Fox & Marie (eds) (2014). A companion to contemporary French cinema.

The Library holds thousands of French films and documentaries in DVD and streamed video format. Kanopy featured at left is one such major video streaming resource, the other is Artfilms Digital, featured below:

Artfilms Digital

Artfilms Digital contains over 5000 films for arts education and arts practitioners. Monash University Library subscribes to over 1500 of these titles in streaming video format. Search across a range of subject areas or search for specific films.

Search for French DVDs and online streamed films in the library catalogue:

French film search

The Library holds hundreds of DVDs in French. Do an Advanced search in Subject for France OR French, film* OR cinema* OR motion picture OR documentar*.

The * finds the plural form of words, ie film, films, cinema, cinematic etc.

 

Below is a small selection of online journals available for French art and cinema. Click on a cover to go to the journal detail page in Search.

To get into the journal articles, click on 'View it' and then login to a database (such as CAIRN.info). To search across a wide selection of journals, use one of the recommended databases in the next tab.

Art du Cinema

L'Art du cinéma (1993-)

Studies in French cinema

Studies in French cinema (2001-)

Vertigo

Vertigo, revue du cinéma (2002-2015)

Sociologie de l'Art

Sociologie de l'Art (2004-)

Nouvell revue d'esthetique

Nouvelle revue d'esthetique (2008-)

Gradhiva

Gradhiva (2005-)

Search these specialised online databases to find scholarly articles and other content in the areas of Art and Film.

Art & Architecture source

Includes articles from 640+ journals from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Articles are published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.

Go to Art & Architecture Source.

Artbibliographies Modern

Includes foreign language articles on all forms of modern and contemporary art dating from the late 1960s to the present.

Go to Artbibliographies Modern.

Film Index International

Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute this database provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities, including searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

Go to Film Index International.

Film and TV literature Index

A comprehensive index and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Go to Film & Television Literature Index.

Common call numbers

The best way to find materials on France and in French in the library is to use Search.
The following Dewey numbers may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves.

Number Subject
016.44 French language - Bibliography
016.8405 French literature - Bibliography
034.1 Encyclopedias and dictionaries, French
443 French language - Dictionaries
445 French language - Grammar
709.04 French art - Modern 20th Century
759.4 French paintings - Modern 20th Century
791.430944 French cinema
840 French literature
840.914 French literature - 20th century
840.03 French literature - Dictionaries   
843.914 French fiction - 20th century
849.1 [French literature in other countries] The number is preceded by a letter for the name of the country, eg French Canadian literature C849.1
944 France - History
971.4 Quebec - History

DVDs and videos are held at 791.4372 in the Music and Multimedia collection of the Matheson library (Clayton) and  at Caulfield library.

Loading