Italian Studies: Theses

A guide to information and information finding resources for Italian Studies

Monash theses

If you cannot find a thesis please contact your subject librarian

All Monash PhD and Masters theses are included in Search. Simply type in title, author and / or subject keywords (then click 'Go'). On the left of the Results page, under Refine results, select Theses and / or Date.

For example, to find Leah Gerber's thesis Tracing a tradition : the translation of Australian children's fiction into German, type in the following words; Gerber "children's fiction" German (then click 'Go'). On the left of the Results page, under Refine results, select Theses and / or Date.

For browsing theses on a particular topic, type in an appropriate keyword(s) eg 'Italian literature'. On the left of the Results page, under Refine results, select Theses

PhD theses submitted after 2005 are also available in the Monash University Research Repository either in full text or as an abstract only where access is restricted.

Clayton campus Arts theses submitted prior to 2005 are available on microfiche and these are located in the Matheson Library, Music and Multimedia Collection (Ground Floor). Readers and printers are available to view the microfiche. Note: The microfiche number is required to locate a thesis.

The Matheson Library holds Monash theses in hardcopy for five years, after which they are moved to off-site storage. More about Obtaining theses

Honours theses are not held in the library. To access them enquire at the relevant faculty or department. 

Finding international theses

WorldCat (the world catalogue) includes records for over 8 million theses from many countries, in many languages and links to those available in full text. WorldCat also includes all theses held by Australian universities.

In Basic search type in title, author and/or subject keywords (then click search). On the left of the Results page, under Format, select Thesis / dissertation, Year and / or Language. For theses available in full text, simply select Computer file under Format.

UK & Ireland

Index to Theses in Great Britain and Ireland. Coverage is from 1716 with abstracts included for all theses since 1970. Full text theses are available via links to institutional repositories.

Note: You can also search the catalogues of international university libraries through LibWeb

Finding full text theses online

Trove includes records for all Australian Masters and PhD theses, it links to many full text theses available online. Under the Search box check Available Online.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses - full text is the most comprehensive source for finding full text theses globally. Abstracts are included for all theses submitted after 1980 and full text theses have been included since 1997.

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations includes over a million full text theses.

Europe

Dart European theses (full-text)

UK and Ireland

Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland