Skip to content

Slavic Studies: Using Google Scholar

A guide to Slavic Studies resources at Monash University Library, including the Ada Booth Slavic Collection

Google Scholar

google scholar image
image: http://scholar.google.com.au/

Searching tips

Use the tips in the following document to improve the accuracy and effectiveness of your Google Scholar search

Useful links

Google Scholar and Endnote

Go to Google Scholar settings and select EndNote in the 'Bibliography Manager' section to create links to export citations into EndNote.

Note: citations can sometimes be inaccurate. Please check them carefully

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a subset of Google which searches specifically for scholarly material on the web. 

It locates journal articles, theses and dissertations, books, conference papers and other research material from a variety of sources including academic publishers, professional societies, institutional repositories and databases.

Its coverage is strongest in science, technology and medicine.

Strengths:

  • Useful when searching "Grey Literature" such as conference proceedings
  • Enables interdisciplinary searches
  • Accesses multiples types of documents (articles, books, conference proceedings)
  • Helps identify who is publishing in particular areas of research
  • Results are ranked by relevancy

Be aware that:

  • Content is not always equivalent to the scholarly or peer-reviewed content in databases
  • Difficult to perform a specific search with precise results
  • Gaps in coverage - a lot of information is not freely available on the web
  • Citations can be incomplete, and can only be exported one at a time

Where else can I search?

  • Google Scholar is a useful supplement to database research, but you should use the Library's databases to search for the high quality information that will be the basis of your research. The library's databases provide access to more comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date information, and enable users to include better limits on searches for more precise results
  • MultiSearch, like Google Scholar, enables you to search multiple databases and catalogues simultaneously and link to full text journal articles
  • Try other search engines in addition to Google to widen your search. For information on various search engines see: Recommended Search Engines UC Berkeley - Teaching Library Internet Workshops

Full text linking

Google Scholar allows you to set Google Scholar settings to link to the full text of articles cited in Google Scholar which are available from Monash University Library. Follow these steps to ensure full text links show in your search results

On Campus access
When you search on campus, Google Scholar will automatically recognise your location, and display the Check for full text link to library materials

Off Campus access
If you are off campus you will need to tell Google to link to resources available from Monash University Library. Choose one of the following options to access these full text links:

Option 1:
Always connect to Google Scholar from the library's databases page

Option 2:

  • Go to Google Scholar and click the Settings link on the top right
  • Click on Library Links and search for Monash 
  • Tick the checkbox for Monash University - Check for full text
  • Click Save

Search results display

  • Check for full text link next to a title shows that the full text is available electronically.
  • Check for full text link below a record (and its details) show that the full text may not be available electronically. Use this link to check the Monash University Library catalogue for electronic access or a print copy

Google scholar results screen