Skip to content

eBooks: Major Collections

A guide to accessing and using ebooks available at Monash University

Major and Specialised Collections

Ebook Collection Collection details
Blackwell Reference Online Covers over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). Collection Includes encyclopedias, handbooks and companions published by Blackwell.
Brill Online

Covers ebooks published by Brill in humanities, social sciences, religion, history, international law and biology.

Brill Online Reference Works

Subjects covered include: History, Classical studies, Middle East and Islamic studies, International relations, Asian studies, Biblical studies, African studies, Jewish studies, Language and linguistics, and Religious studies.

Monash University Library provides access to the following reference titles: Africa yearbook; African studies companion online; Brill's New Jacoby; Brill's New Pauly; Brill's New Pauly, Supplements 1-5; Christian-Muslim relations. A bibliographical history; Der Neue Pauly; Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker, Parts I-V; Encyclopedia of Christianity online; Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd ed.; Encyclopaedia of Islam, glossary and index of terms; Encyclopaedia of Islam, three; Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an; Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an, Qur'an concordance; Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures; and Historical atlas of Islam.

Cambridge Books Online Covers all disciplines across science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences. (Only ebooks licensed by Monash University Library are available as full text access).
EBL Ebook library (EBL) is a multidisciplinary aggregator/platform from which access is enabled to ebooks from many different publishers covering a wide variety of subject areas.
Ebrary A multidisciplinary aggregator/platform enabling access to a variety of academic publishers.  (Note: only those titles licensed by Monash University library are available for searching/browsing)
EbscoHost Ebook Collection Formerly Netlibrary, an aggregator/platform enabling access to a variety of different academic publisher books.
Emerald Strength in business, information technology and engineering books with a European perspective.
Hart Publishing A collection of ebooks in the subject of law. Titles, keywords, authors, etc., or any combination of terms, can be searched, or titles browsed individually from an A-Z list. Hart Publishing is a legal publisher based in Oxford.
IBFD A portal to independent tax research, international tax information and tax education.
MyiLibrary An aggregator/platform containing works of several different publishers.
OECD iLibrary

OECD's Online Library for books, papers and statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It contains publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Covers 20 subject areas: Classical studies, history, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, social work, sociology; Biology, mathematics, neuroscience, palliative care, physics, public health and epidemiology, psychology; Business & management, economics & finance and Law.

Palgrave Connect Strength in business & management (content from 2009), economics & finance (content from 2009), and social sciences (content from 2000).
Princeton University Press Covers humanities, social sciences, economics, business and natural sciences. Subjects include modern history, natural history, political science, philosophy, mathematics, economics and education.
Referex Engineering Contains over 1,600 engineering books, including handbooks, reference books, academic or scholarly books, how-to-guides and titles focussed on technique and practice, as well as specialised professional information.
Sage Reference Online Covers social sciences and education. Specific subjects include African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.
Science Direct A multidisciplinary collection of ebooks, reference works, handbooks etc. published by Elsevier. Subjects include physical sciences, social sciences, life sciences, medical sciences and technology.
SpringerLink A database including journals, books, series, protocols and reference works. Subject coverage includes: Biomedical sciences, Business & management, Chemistry, Computer science, Earth sciences and geography, Economics, Education & language, Energy, Engineering, Environmental sciences, Food science & nutrition, Law, Life sciences, Materials, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Psychology, Public health, Social sciences, and Statistics.
   
United Nations University Collection

A database of electronic books published by the United Nations University, focusing on international trade and development, sustainable development and developing countries.

Wiley Online Library

Covers ebooks on life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, handbooks and book series. 

World Bank e-Library

A comprehensive collection of publications from the World Bank in social and economic development. Includes all current and recent World Bank titles, documents and papers. Titles are available on or about publication date of the print edition.