Skip to content

MultiSearch: QuickSearch

A guide to using Multisearch to search multiple databases simultaneously

Searching

QuickSearch is an easy way to search predefined sets of databases and catalogues. The Library has created two sets, Multidisciplinary and Victorian Libraries. You can create your own sets. To see what resources are in a set, click on the set name.

Searching in QuickSearch

  1. Select a quick set by clicking the radio button  next to the set name eg Multidisciplinary as in the example below.
  2. Select either Simple or Advanced search, enter search terms and click Go.

Simple search

  1. Enter a word or phrase in the search box, for example:
    "mobile communication" (Quotation marks are needed for phrase searching.)
    comput? (to retrieve computer, computers, computing etc)
  2. Click Go

 

Advanced search

Use Advanced search to limit your search to a specific field such as subject, year or ISSN.

  1. Click Advanced tab to switch to Advanced searching.
  2. The default setting is to search All fields. Click the Search in fields drop down menu to reselect another field if required.
  3. Enter a word or phrase in the first search box.
  4. To narrow or broaden your search, choose And / Or / Without from the drop down menu to the right, enter another word or phrase in the second search box. Use or to search for multiple years eg 2003 or 2004 or 2005.
  5. Click Go

QuickSearch results

When a search is in progress, MultiSearch shows the search status. On completion, MultiSearch normally presents an initial result set which includes up to the first 30 records retrieved from each database. The records are displayed in one combined list, sorted by rank. You can re-sort by title, author, year or database.

Click retrieve more to get more records. A larger set of results including the initial set will be displayed. The new records will be integrated into the list of results, and marked by a new icon, .

Click Summary to return to the list of resulting databases that was displayed while the QuickSearch was searching.

Viewing results

Results can be viewed in Table, Brief or Full view.

  • Click Check for full text icon  to locate full text and other options.
  • Click Full text available icon  or  to open the document in full text.
  • Click 'Add to basket' icon  to add records to e-shelf in My Space.
  • Click on title will open the record in Full view.
  • Click on Database name will link you to its original interface.

Viewing combined results by Topics, Dates, Authors and Journal titles

Results by topics, dates, authors and journal titles appear on the right side of the search result pages. Click on a topic (or sub topic), date, author or journal title to display records on the left panel.

Click on 'All retrieved records' will take you back to view all records retrieved in the last search.

see: Saving and emailing records

View results by databases

To view results by databases, click on the MetaSearch link. On the next screen, select View results by databases to bring up the Results by databases box. Click view next to a database name to see results in that database.

Note: For a database which is searchable but cannot display in MultiSearch format, click Jumpnext to the database name will link you to the results in the original database interface.

Logging out

Click on Logout when you have finished searching MultiSearch.