Skip to content

Chemical engineering: CHE3175 resources

Resources to support studies in chemical engineering at Monash University

Guide to call numbers

The Monash libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme to organise books and journals. This ensures that all materials on similar subject areas are kept together on the shelves. The following call numbers may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves for CHE3175. See also the Browsing tab in this guide for more information.

Numbers Subject
333.7-333.8 Environmental aspects / Sustainability
540 Chemistry
615 Pharmaceutical industry
660 Chemical engineering
664 Food technology
676 Paper industry
808 Essay, reports and technical writing

Location prefixes

Some call numbers are preceded by a location prefix. That means the book is shelved in a special location, and may have loan restrictions. The Hargrave-Andrew Library uses the following prefixes.

Prefix Library location
Reference Level 1 (Not for loan)
Reserve Level 1 (Overnight, or 3-hr loan)
Maps Level 1 (Some items may not be available for loan)
Multimedia Level 1
Serials (unbound)

Serials (current)

Level 1 (Overnight loan for staff and post-graduate students only)
Serials (bound)

Level 1: Call number: 001 - 540.5 I85

Level 2: Call number: 540.5 J86 - 552.05 C764

Ground level: Call number: 552.05 J86 - 925 A1 NAT

(Overnight loan for staff and post-graduate students only)
Standards Level 1 (Not for loan)

e-books

Hover your mouse over the links for more information.

e-book collections

Hover your mouse over the links for more information.

See also the Books tab in this guide for more information, particularly on Knovel.

Print books and/or e-book series

1. Solid waste technology and management edited by Thomas Christensen, 2011. (Call number: 628.744 C554S 2011)

The book is a balanced account of all aspects of municipal solid waste management, treatment and disposal, and covers both engineering and management aspects with an overarching emphasis on the life-cycle analysis approach.

2. Environmentally conscious ... (Wiley book series) including 'Environmentally conscious materials and chemicals processing'

Go to the library Search > select Advanced search

Select 'in the title', 'is exact' and type environmentally conscious and select 'Books' for 'Material Type'

3. Computer aided chemical engineering (Elsevier book series)

Go to the library Search > select Advanced search

Select 'in the title', 'is exact' and type pcomputer aided chemical engineering and select 'Books' for 'Material Type'

4. Appita Annual Conference (The Australasian Pulp and Paper Industry Technical Association)

Go to the library Search > Select Advanced search

Select 'in the title', 'is exact' and type appita annual conference and select 'Books' for 'Material Type'

Key databases

Databases provide access to the contents of journal articles, conference papers, these, patents and other information sources.

  • Coverage: a multidisciplinary engineering database. Includes "Compendex" database (focus: chemical, civil, and mechanical engineering) and "Inspec" database (focus: electrical, electronics, computer engineering, and physics.)
  • Date range: 1884 to present (Compendex), 1896 to present (Inspec).
  • Publication type: Journal article, Conference article, Monograph chapter, Report and Patent.
  • Full-text: The yellow "Full-Text" icons provide access to full text of the article. 
  • Search options: One of the options for refining search results is faceted searching - A "Refine Results" box to the right of the results list has clusters of terms for seven fields including Controlled Vocabulary - an easy and effective way to refine searches. 
  • EndNote: Direct export
  • Coverage: a database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. 
  • Date range: 1960 to present.
  • Publication types: Journal article, Conference article, Short survey from Trade journal, Patent, Open access journal article, Web source.
  • Full-text: The "View at Publisher" icons provide access to full text of the article. 
  • Search options: click the "Cited by" button to view a list of documents which cite the document in your search results.
  • EndNote: Direct export.
  • Coverage: provides access to bibliographic information and and cited references in a broad range of disciplines. Although not its primary strength, it can be useful for cross disciplinary searching.
  • Date range: 1900 to present.
  • Publication types: Journal article, Conference paper, Reviews, News item, and Editorial material. 
  • Full-text: The "Full Text" icons provide access to full text of the article.
  • Search options: One of the easy and effective way to refine searches is to use the options listed through the "Refine Results" box to the left of the results list.
  • EndNote: Direct export.

Full text journal collection

Full-text journal collections allow keyword searching of articles, abstracts, subject headings/descriptors, and the full-text of articles as well.

Standards

e.g. ISO 14040: Environmental management - Life cycle assessment - Principles and framework

  • ASTM standards (The American Society for Testing & Materials): in print only at Hargrave-Andrew Library STD 600.78 A512 2012, Level 1, Not For Loan

e.g. Life cycle assessment - Determination of biobased content, resources consumption, and environmental profile of materials and products, Guide for (Volume 08.03, p. D6852)

Google Scholar

Monash students and staff can now use Google Scholar to access electronic resources to which the Library subscribes. They appear in Google Scholar search results and will be accompanied by the Check for full text link.

Google Scholar is a subset of Google which searches for scholarly material on the web.

Important: you should also use the library's databases to search for the high quality information that will be the basis of your research.