Chemical engineering: CHE4180 resources

Resources to support studies in chemical engineering at Monash University

7 habits of highly effective CHE4180 students

  1. Plan your search
  2. Identify sources
  3. Search sources identified above
  4. Refine your search
  5. Locate references found
  6. Evaluate and manage references
  7. Know how to contact your subject librarian and learning skills adviser

1. Plan your search

Identifying key concepts and appropriate search terms related to your research topic.
For example:
Your research topic is on 'the feasibility study of carbon capture and storage technologies in coal fired plants'.
Key concepts: 1. feasibility, 2. carbon capture and storage, 3. coal fired plants
Search terms:

  1. feasibility, or advantages, or strengths, or disadvantages, or weaknesses
  2. carbon capture and storage, or carbon sequestration
  3. coal fired plants, or fossil fuel plants

2. Identify sources

  • Dictionaries/encyclopedias/handbooks/books: give you a general overview of your topic or terminology.
  • Journal articles: provide more in-depth information than books. Use databases to find journal articles.
  • Standards: may be defined as documented, sanctioned or approved agreements. They provide reference points which similar matters may be compared and measured.
  • Patents: "a good source of technical and scientific information. They describe in detail the designs, materials, machines, and processes associated with inventions". (Source: A guide to writing as an engineer, Chapter 8 - Sources of engineering information.)
  • Google Scholar: it is important to know that Internet resources should supplement other sources of information.

3. Search sources

  • Search strategies
    • e.g. keyword searching, subject searching, Boolean operators, etc.

4. Refine your search

  • Use your search results to find other references
    • use cited/citing references
  • Refine your search as you go
    • look for additional subject headings or useful keywords in your search results
    • use results from different databases to revise your previous searches
  • Focus your search by applying limits
    • e.g. publication type, year, etc.

5. Locate references

You have a list of citations. It is important that you can tell the difference between the most common types of information (e.g. books, book chapters, journal articles, etc.).

Use the Library Search logo or Citation Linker to locate a journal reference. If the citation is not held at Monash contact your subject librarian.

6a. Evaluate and manage references

You need to evaluate your sources carefully. It is important to acknowledge where your sources have come from. Always check with your supervisors about the preferred citation style. When you find useful information make sure you keep an accurate records of all the bibliographic details that relate to that piece of information.

A book reference:

  • author
  • title
  • publisher
  • place of publication
  • date of publication

A book chapter reference:

  • author of the chapter
  • title of the chapter
  • editor/s
  • book title
  • publisher
  • place of publication
  • date of publication
  • page number

A journal article reference:

  • author
  • date of publication
  • volume number
  • page number

A website reference:

  • author (if available)
  • article title
  • published date (if available)
  • URL address
  • accessed date

6b. Evaluate and manage references - EndNote

One of the effective ways of organising your information is using EndNote.

Library Guide for EndNote

7. Contact

Books on Management

Hover your mouse over the links for more information.

Books on Energy

Hover your mouse over the links for more information.

Books on engineering calculations

Hover your mouse over the links for more information.

Books - Other

Hover your mouse over the links for more information.

eBooks collections

Hover your mouse over the links for more information.

See also the Books tab in this gude for more information, particularly on Knovel.

Databases

  • ScienceDirect
  • Compendex
  • Scopus

Click on the Databases tab in this guide for more information including "Subject coverage", "Search options", etc.

Standards

  • Standards on-line premium (including Australian standards)
  • ASTM standards

Click on the Standards tab in this guide for more information.

Theses

Click on the Theses tab in this guide for more information.

Patents

  • Ei Patents

Click on the Patents tab in this guide for or more information.

Useful Websites on Energy

BP Energy Outlook 2030 (accessed date June 2015)

"This presentation contains forward-looking statement, particularly those regarding global economic growth, ...".