Skip to content

Chemical engineering: Postgraduates

Resources to support studies in chemical engineering at Monash University

Tips - ProQuest dissertations and abstracts

ProQuest dissertations and theses global includes more than 90% of the doctoral dissertations in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world.

The database offers full text for most the dissertations added since 1997. It is advisable to look at the abstract or preview before downloading full-text, as the file sizes may be large and slow-to-download.

Research

If you are a Monash staff member, research fellows, or postgraduate student the Library offers a specialised range of services to help you find, use and manage information more effectively, such as the Document delivery service, EndNote software and EndNote workshops (type endnote in the 'Keywords' search box).

For more information go to Enabling your research.

Video Series on Research Publishing

The ACS 'Publishing Your Research 101' Series (The American Chemical Society)

"The effective communication of scientific research is vital both to the scientific community and to a scientist’s career. ACS Publications has launched the Publishing Your Research 101 video series to assist authors and reviewers in understanding and improving their experience with the processes of writing, submitting, editing, and reviewing manuscripts."

The first four include:

Episode 1. How to write a paper to communicate your re(search

Episode 2. Writing your cover letter

Episode 3. Selecting peers to suggest as reviewers

Episode 4. Submitting your manuscript using the ACS Paragon Plus environment

 

Information research skills - Checklist

  1. I know how to contact my Subject Librarian
  2. I can use the library Search to locate a known reference and/or publications of interest
  3. I can identify the key databases relevant to my research topic.
  4. I can find a Monash Masters/PhD thesis.
  5. I can access the full-text of an article, or find a print journal article
  6. I can identify different types of references including books, book chapters, etc.
  7. I can set up e-mail alerts
  8. I can find out who has cited a particular journal article
  9. I can submit a document delivery request online
  10. I can find the Monash website for 'eThesis Submission' and 'Research Data management'

Adapted from 'Information research skills - Checklist for Postgraduate Students' by Kerry Bedford, Senior Librarian, Hargrave-Andrew Library, Monash University, 2010.

EndNote

Free software for managing citations and associated files for Monash University students and staff. It integrates with common word processors. Windows and Mac versions available