Skip to content

Chemistry: Books

Resources to support studies in chemistry at Monash University

Knovel

Knovel includes engineering and scientific handbook, books, and more. 23 subject areas are covered. They include Chemistry & Chemical engineering, Nanotechnology, Oil and gas engineering, Process design, control & automation, and Sustainable energy & development.

There are three different ways to search in Knovel.

  • Quick search - by keywords 
  • Browse - by subject areas (e.g. 'Nanotechnology)
  • Data search - you can locate data that may be hidden in large complex table (see also below B. Knovel Data Search Guide Me)

Knovel Data Search Guide Me

Guide Me

This interactive Knovel Data Search Guide Me tutorial will guide you how to use the Data Search feature effectively. The activity will take about 5 minutes.

Chemistry eBooks via CRCnetBASE

1. Chemistry e-books via CRCnetBASE

CRCnetBASE offers online access to books and reference books in many disciplines including biomedical science, chemistry, engineering, life sciences, material science and more.

Searching

  • Basic search: a keyword search of the full text of e-books offered by the CRCnetBASE
  • Advanced search: Full text; Book/Chapter Title; Author (by Chapter) and ISBN/DOI.
    • Here you can use the  subject category criteria to limit your search to a certain collection, for example: 'Chemistry'.

Viewing results

  • search results are displayed in two tabs:
    • the Chapters tab, and
    • the Book Titles tab, if the e-book/s contain your search term within their title
  • links to PDFs are displayed under each chapter title
    • Hi-Res PDF: select this format when viewing detailed drawings or photographs
    • PDF w/links: select this format to view links to related articles and content

Downloading / Saving

  • one chapter at a time (as of January 2012)

Printing

  • one chapter at a time (as of January 2012)

Personal account

  • Sign up for a free personal account to
    • save and manage searches
    • add chapters to personal bookshelf

2. CHEMnetBASE

User guides

 

Other ebook collections

Title About the database
ACS Publications
  • ACS (the American Chemical Society) symposium series archives dating back from 1950
  • ACS symposium series online.
  • Full text of journals published by ACS.
ASM Materials Information Online

This ASM (American Society for Metals) database enables cross searching of all of ASM's authoritative online reference content, including 1. ASM handbooks online, featuring the complete content of twenty-four ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions; 2. ASM Alloy Center Online, featuring ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys; 3. ASM Micrograph Center Online, with over 3500 micrographs for industrially important alloys; 4. ASM Failure Analysis Center Online, with over 1000 case histories and authoritative handbook information on failure mechanisms and analysis methods; 5. ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center, providing access to more than 30,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data.

Notes: ASM International (society) (formerly known as the American Society for Metals) is a scholarly engineering society focussed on materials science [metals, polymers, ceramics]. Motto; Everything Materials. (Source: ASM International (society) accessed November 2011.)

Cambridge Books Online

Cambridge Books Online offers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences."

IOS Press Books Online

Provides access to the entire e-book collection of IOS Press, an international publisher of books and journals in many important scientific areas.

Subjects covered include:

  • Biochemistry/Medicine
  • Computer & communications sciences
  • General engineering
  • Mathematics/Electronics/Mechanics
  • Physics, and more.

Years covered are 2005-2010 (as of February 2011).

Referex Engineering

Offers access to the full text of engineering books in 6 subject areas:

  • Chemical, petrochemical & process
  • Civil
  • Computing
  • Electronics & electrical
  • Materials & mechanical
RSC Books
  • Over 800 books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Digitalised as pdf files and made fully searchable.
  • Continually updated and expanded throughout the year the RSC book collection provides access to new content as it is published
SPIE Digital Library
  • SPIE (the International Society of Optics and Photonics) Digital Library publishes over 100 ebooks, in addition to journals and conference proceedings.
  • Subject areas includes optics, photonics, and imaging engineering.
SpringerLink
  • Provides full-text access to Springer journals and book series.
  • Subject coverage includes engineering, science, and more.
Wiley Online Library
  • Provides full text to Wiley journals, ebooks, and major reference work.
  • Subject coverage includes engineering, medicine and science.
Woodhead eBooks
  •  Three collections are: materials and engineering; Food science, technology and nutrition; and Textitle technology.
World Scientific eBooks
  •  Subject coverage includes chemistry, life sciences, materials science, medicine and healthcare, nanotechnology and nanoscience, nonlinear science, and physics.