Skip to content

Chemistry: Syntheses and Reactions

Resources to support studies in chemistry at Monash University

Library subscribed online resources

Name About the resource
Combined chemical dictionary

Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds, systematic and common names of compounds, literature references, structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.

The online version contains all those compounds published in:

  • Dictionary of organic compounds
  • Dictionary of natural products
  • Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds
  • Dictionary of pharmacological agents
  • Dictionary of analytical reagents
Inorganic reactions and methods (via Wiley online library)

This collection (v1 - 18; 1986 - 1999) is useful for studying how reactions take places as well as for those planning an experiement.

The authors of this series explore bond formation between elements. Reaction types that do not arise in this manner are included at the end on chapters on oxidative addition and reductive elimination. References to the primary literature are included at the end of each articles.

Inorganic syntheses series (via Wiley online library)

"The series is the complete and up-to-date review of the area, providing the detailed foolproof information needed by lab chemists on procedures for the preparation of important and timely inorganic compounds."

Currently the library holds v.1 - v.34 (as of October 2011).

Organic reaction mechanisms series (via Wiley online library)

This series summarizes the progress of work on organic reaction mechanism.

Currently the library holds 1965 - 2000 (as of October 2011).

Reaxys

This database provides access to information including chemical compounds, reactions and synthesizing compounds.

Science of synthesis: Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations

The online version of Methoden der organischen Chemie (Houben-Weyl) contains information on organic and organometallic synthetic strategies and includes access to Houben-Weyl. It provides coverage of synthetic organic chemistry. This work is designed to be the first point of reference for chemists searching for reliable synthetic methods and covers all fields of organic synthesis.

The current version 3.10 (release date: September 2010) covers the whole field of organic chemistry from organometallics to alkenes. This update added another 14,452 reactions, with over 68,000 new structures and provides detailed preparative expertise on:

  • Nitro, Nitroso, Azo, Azoxy, and Diazonium compounds, Azides, Triazenes, and Tetrazenes (Volume 41)
  • Alkenes (Volume 47)
  • Alkanes (Volume 48)

The electronic backfile (1909-2003) provides immediate access to 146,000 product specific experimental procedures, 580,000 structures and 700,000 references in all fields of synthetic organic chemistry - dating back to the early 1800s.

 SciFinder

Explore scientific principles, how they evolve as new discoveries are made, and how these principles transcend traditional scientific disciplines. A wealth of information for more than 60 million organic and inorganic substances:

  • by chemical structures or biological sequences
  • by substructures or reactions
  • by research topic, author, company, or substance name
SPRESIweb

SPRESIweb is a chemical synthesis and reaction database.

Users can search:

  • Quick search
  • Molecules
  • Reactions
  • References
Web of science with Conference Proceedings

On the Web of science home page, click the Structure Search tab.

Users can:

  • search for chemical compounds and reactions that match a structure query that the user creates
  • search for data associated with compounds and reactions
  • search for compound or reaction data without doing a structure search

Free web resources

Name About the resource
ChemSpider
  • A free chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
  • Search by chemical name and/or chemical structure.
ChemSpider SyntheticPages 
  • A freely available interactive database of synthetic chemistry, publishing practical and reliable organic, organometallic and inorganic chemical synthesis, reactions and procedures.
  • Synthetic methods on the site are updated continuously by chemists working in academic and industrial research laboratories.
  • ChemSpider SyntheticPages encourages submissions from graduate students, postdocs, industrialists and academics.
eMolecules
  • Provides a structure searchable database of over 7 million chemical structures and chemical data from more than 140 suppliers.
  • Reference links to many prominent sources of public data for spectra, physical properties and biological properties.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data program.
  • Includes IR spectra, Mass spectra, UV/VIS spectra, Gas chromatography, and Vibrational spectra.
  • Also includes Thermochemical data for organic and small inorganic compounds.
NMR Shift DB
  • A web database for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectra.
  • Allows for spectrum prediction (currently only for carbon) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties.
Organic Chemistry Portal
  • "The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists." (accessed: July 12th, 2013)
  • Organic Synthesis Search (accessed: July 15th, 2013)
Organic Syntheses
  • Covers full text synthetic procedures. Collection of reliable procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
  • Provides detailed articles on a variety of methods for synthesis. The articles are usually thorough enough that the reactions can be carried out without consulting the primary literature, but references to the primary literature are included for additional information and confirmation of techniques.
PubChem
  • Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
  • Includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data.
PubChem Substance
  • Contains validated chemical depiction information that is provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance.
  • By clicking on the source number from PubChem Substance a link to physical properties including spectra (e.g. IR, NMR, etc.) can be obtained.
SDBS
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
  • Organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan.
  • An integrated database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The 6 spectra are as follows: an electronic impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
  • The studies on the spectral database system were started in early 1970s.
Spectra Online
  • A free web-based spectral database from Thermo Scientific.
  • Spans many different classes of compounds including drugs, common chemicals, polymers, petroleum products among others.
  • Does not review the data in the collections; all spectra and related compound information are presented "as-is" in the form they were received.
 Synthesis reviews
  • Synthesis Reviews is a database that can be accessed free of charge and contains 27,701 English language review articles (from journals and books) of interest to synthetic organic chemists.
  • It includes the previous version (which covered literature between 1970 and 2009) plus an update containing articles until the end of 2010.
  • The reviews are provided in a format suitable for either PC or Mac.

(Source: Chemistry in Australia, August 2011, p. 31.)