Civil engineering: Journals

Resources in civil engineering

Finding journals in Search

Finding the full text journal article: via a library database

Use the library databases to search the contents of journals quickly and efficiently.

When you find a relevant journal article, you can use the Check for full text button:  to check the availability of the journal in search.

Key journal publishers in this area

The following publishers include journals for Civil Engineering. These journals can be searched directly from the database links.

Publications - Professional Institutions

Scientific publisher databases

Key journals for Civil Engineering

Journals are also referred to as serials, periodicals, magazines or newspapers and contain more up-to-date and subject specific information than books. Many of the following Journals are available online as well as in paper.

Note: your may need to check more than one catalogue record to find complete information about the library's holdings

  • Automation in construction print and online
  • The Baltic journal of road and bridge engineering online
  • Building and environment online
  • Coastal engineering print and online
  • Cold regions science and technology online
  • Computers & structures print and online
  • Computer-aided civil and infrastructure engineering print and online
  • Earthquake engineering & structural dynamics print and online
  • Energy and buildings online
  • Engineering structures print and online
  • Fire safety journal print and online
  • IEEE transactions on intelligent transportation systems. online
  • Journal of hazardous materials online
  • Journal of hydraulic engineering print and online
  • Journal of hydrology print and online
  • Journal of irrigation and drainage engineering print and online
  • Journal of water resources planning and management print and online
  • Journal of waterway, port, coastal, and ocean engineering print and online
  • Stochastic environmental research and risk assessment online
  • Structural safety online
  • Transportation online
  • Transportation research. Part B: Methodological online
  • Water resources management online

Locating Journals

  1. Choose Advanced Search
  2. Change the pull down menu from any to In the title and type the title of the journal in double quotes - eg “Australian journal of multi-disciplinary engineering”
  3. TIP: If you are not sure of the journal title, short of  "googling" it, you may type the keywords without the using the quotes.  The quotes tells the computer to look for every word enclosed within the quotes, in that exact order.
  4. Then choose Journals from the Materials type pull down menu (This will ensure you don’t also retrieve records of articles from the journal: Australian journal of multi-disciplinary engineering.  TIP: Do not put in date ranges as these are not helpful to journal or "serial" records, and may restrict useful results. 
  5. Click Go

Making sense of the Search results:

  • Online access indicates some full-text content. Click the View it tab and click the provider that has the required date range see available from... (ensure the year, volume and issue of your article is included in the date ranges for the full-text.)
  • The print version if available will be viewable from the Get it tab. Again, check the dates covered next to Holdings. 
    The shelf location for the physical items will provide a call number (an alpha numeric sequence) eg Hargrave-Andrew Library Serials 620.6 I59

To see this process illustrated with screen shots, please view the PDF documents below: