Journal articles provide a depth of analysis and opinion which will inform your argument, especially when writing research essays. Use journal articles to:
This page provides information on relevant databases used to identify and locate articles on a legal topic. To check what journals the Library subscribes to, use Search to find a particular journal, or browse the Law category in electronic journals
Browse law journals
Keep up with the law - read these journals
Law Institute Journal (LIV website - subscription)
Read papers by Monash Faculty of Law academics - free downloads via the SSRN Monash University Faculty of Law Legal Studies Research Paper Series
Monash Law academics can contact the Law Library to receive SSRN email alerts.
Law Review Commons - contains over 75,000 articles from open-access law reviews with issues dating from 1904.
Stay up-to-date with these alerts
Create RSS feeds or email alerts to see tables of contents for new issues of your favourite journal.
LexisNexis Content Notifier - LexisNexis Newsletters, Reports, Journals and Bulletins
Subscribe to an email service notifying you whenever LexisNexis reports journals or bulletins are updated. Through this service you will receive the table of contents of the latest issue in PDF format.
Westlaw AU Alert 24 - In Preferences, set up your profile and create a OnePass username and Password. Then select journals, law reports or commentaries to create individual email alerts.
Thomson Reuters Journals Talk - visit the site or sign up to receive articles and news in the Thomson Reuters online journals.
Cambridge Journals Online - Register to receive TOC alerts to your favourite journals.
Hart email list - select Hart journals (listed at the end of the list of interests)
JournalTOCs (Heriot-Watt University) - free site to receive TOCs for journals of interest, including 632 Law journals.
Oxford Journals - Register, then sign up for free TOC email alerts.
Taylor and Francis - Register first, then select journals and set up an email alert.
Key Australian law databases
Key Australian full-text databases
Search the full-text of Australian law journals online, using the following databases:
If you find an article record that does not provide full text, look for a link. Clicking this will open a new window to show you where the full-text can be located, or provide a direct link to the journal record in Search.
Note - not all databases have this facility, so, alternatively, use Search.
To help with locating the article and citing it, always make a note of the journal details (title, volume, issue, year and starting page number) as well as the author and title of the article.
If using Google Scholar off-campus to search for articles, set the Scholar Preferences to recognise Monash University (under Library Links) so that you can link through to subscribed full-text journals for participating publishers.