Skip to content

Legal commentary: Law reform

Find legal dictionaries, commentaries, texts, journal articles, news, and more.

What are law reform publications?

Law reform

"Law reform is the modernisation of the law by: bringing it into accord with current conditions; the elimination of defects in the law; the simplification of the law; and the adoption of new or more effective methods for the administration of the law and the dispensation of justice" (Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary).

Through the inquiry process, law reform agencies produce:

  • issues papers
  • background papers
  • draft recommendation papers and
  • reports

Commonwealth and general law reform

Commonwealth alrc

Australasian Law Reform Library (AustLII)
This library includes databases of law reform reports of all permanent Australian and New Zealand law reform bodies available on AustLII and NZLII.

Australian Law Reform Commission (ALRC) | Publications (AustLII) | Reform (online journal via AustLII)
The ALRC home page provides information about the Commission, links to other law reform sources in Australia and other countries, and full-text access to selected Law Reform Commission reports, issues papers, etc., as well as information about current inquiries.

Administrative Review Council (ARC) | Publications (AustLII)

CLEAR: Community Legal Education and Reform Database 
The Community Legal Education and Reform Database showcases community legal education and law reform projects undertaken by Australian Community Legal Centres and other nonprofit legal services.

Copyright Law Review Committee | Publications (AustLII)

Council of Australian and New Zealand Law Reform Agencies
Information about and links to the major law reform agencies in Australia and New Zealand, as well as links to overseas law reform agencies.

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs (Parliament of Australia)

Law reform database
This database indexes almost 6850 law reform materials from common law jurisdictions around the world. Updated to 2002.

Victoria

Victoria vlrc

Victorian Law Reform Commission
Publications | AustLII
The Victorian Law Reform Commission (VLRC) has been established under the Victorian Law Reform Commission Act 2000 as a central agency for developing law reform in Victoria. The site contains current projects and links to publications.

Previously Law Reform Commission of Victoria. Publications 1985-1992 available on AustLII.

Law Reform Committee (Parliament of Victoria)
This site contains general information about the Law Reform Committee of the Parliament of Victoria, selected full-text discussion and issues papers and links to other law reforms committees.

Scrutiny of Acts and Regulations Committee (Parliament of Victoria)

Other States

Other Australian jurisdictions

NSW
New South Wales Law Reform Commission

South Australia
Law Reform Committee (disbanded in 1987)

Queensland
Queensland Law Reform Commission | Publications (AustLII)

Tasmania
Tasmania Law Reform Institute | Publications(AustLII)

Northern Territory
Northern Territory Law Reform Committee | Publications (AustLII)

ACT
Law Reform Advisory Council

Law Reform Commission of the Australian Capital Territory | Publications (AustLII) (disbanded in 2004)

Western Australia
Law Reform Commission of Western Australia | Publications (AustLII)