Skip to content

Legal commentary: Multimedia

Find legal dictionaries, commentaries, texts, journal articles, news, and more.

Listen or look at law podcasts and videos

Law podcasts & videos 

Find videos on these databases

Video databases

NEW!  BenchTV 
BenchTV broadcasts in-depth discussions with senior lawyers on current law. There are over 300 videos available.

Informit EduTV 
Features include: Instant streaming access to 20,000+ programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; Easy and advanced searching, with programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing.

edutv

 

Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions providing access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases.

Create clips from videos for teaching

Create clips for teaching

Once you find a video you want to use in the Library databases, you can save it and create short clips of particular sections.

Kanopy is a streaming video service, subscribed to by the Library. Use Search to find videos, or search or browse the database directly. clip
To use a portion of a video for teaching, see Create clip of a video recording

Informit EduTV provides streaming access to 20,000+ programs; Content includes documentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV.

Link or embed database videos

Link or embed videos

Library subscribed video databases often have an option to create a stable link to be used for re-directing to online multimedia content. Generally in most video databases and webpages you need to look for the Share or Embed option, which can generate a stable link for use in linking to or embedding videos onto another page. 

Alexander Street video   locate video required, look for to generate a stable link. 


Kanopy  locate video required, look for    to generate a stable embed link. 


For websites that use You Tube as their delivery platform, locate video required, click on Share tab  to generate a stable link to share or embed.

Embed streamed video into Moodle

Embed videos into Moodle

Use the edit HTML Source to embed streamed video content directly onto a Moodle page.  

Paste the video HTML embed code into the Editor screen and update, your video should now be embedded onto the page.  You may need to refresh your screen at the Moodle homepage for the video to display.  

Embed video or audio files into Moodle

Embed files into Moodle

This process is useful if you wish to embed audio or video you have saved as a file into Moodle.  

Procedure for embedding audio/video files into Moodle

moodle media in html editor

Consider copyright

Consider copyright

Check the following links. If you have any questions, contact the Copyright Adviser at university.copyright@monash.edu