Skip to content

0 REUSABLE CONTENT (common elements): Finding images

'Linking' to these boxes or pages means your content is automatically updated whenever this source is updated. If there is something not here that you think should be, please add or discuss with libguides-admin@monash.edu

Image sources

Image databases provided by the library:

Images in these databases are copyright cleared for educational use. They can be used online in restricted course websites provided they are not publicly accessible on the web.

Australian images:

Web image search engines:

Gateways:

Photo sharing sites:

  • Behold Search high quality images on Flickr. Check out the disclaimer
  • Creative Commons image search Creative Commons is a nonprofit corporation dedicated to making it easier for people to share and build upon the work of others, consistent with the rules of copyright.
  • Flickr is a photosharing website. Upload images, or search those of other people
  • Flickr commons - photographic collections that have no known copyright restrictions
  • Wikimedia Commons a database of media files to which anyone can contribute.

'Free' image collections:

Some of these sites offer resources that are only free for certain uses. Always read the terms of use or licence restrictions for any file you are considering using.

Commercial image collections:

Image Sources

Copyright

Image editing tools

Google image search

Google Art Project

Image database subscriptions

artstor logo
Monash University Library subscribes to ARTstor which contains more than 1,000,000 digital images. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images. The images are copyright cleared for use in the educational context. ARTstor help.

Bridgeman Education
Monash University Library subscribes to Bridgeman Education, a searchable image database containing over 300,000 art images. Images are copyright cleared to use within Monash.