Subject guides: 0 REUSABLE CONTENT (common elements): Lab Protocols

Databases

Protocols and methods can be found in scientific databases, such as Web of Science or Scopus.

Some databases also specialise in protocols. Two of these are listed below:

Cold Spring Harbor protocols This link opens in a new window
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques, containing over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many extra features--such as discussion forums and personal folders--made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.

Springer Protocols
All Springer protocols can also be found through SpringerLink - perform your search and then select "protocol" under "Content type" on the left.

Nature Protocols
Peer-reviewed protocols for established methods.
Nature Methods
Novel methods and significant improvements to basic research techniques in the life sciences.
Current Protocols Collection
A collection of journals publishing reproducible protocols, covering a range of biological and medical sciences disciplines.
Bio-protocol
Open access, peer-reviewed protocol journal. Life science focus.
Methods
Detailed descriptions of protocols for techniques in experimental biological and medical sciences.
Plant Methods
Open access, peer-reviewed journal, focusing on technological innovation in the plant sciences
Methods in Enzymology
Research methods in biochemistry.
Organic Syntheses
Detailed procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.

Protocol Exchange
Open repository for sharing scientific research protocols, posted by the authors. Protocols are not peer reviewed.
WHO IRIS: Laboratory manuals
World Health Organization Institutional Repository for Information Sharing. Provides laboratory manuals (including protocols) related to testing for various pathogens.
Laboratory Methods (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
Standard procedures for testing for contaminants in food.
ChemSpider Synthetic Pages
Free database of practical procedures for synthetic chemistry, written by chemists. Published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services)
Provides some protocols related to testing for presence of specific diseases. Use the site search to find them.