Orientation
This is the "Home" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music   Tags: music  

Selected resources for students of music
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.monash.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Music Videos Online

Classical Music in Video 

Classical Music in Video contains performances of all forms of music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with master classes and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

 

New Skill Development Resource - HAVE A LOOK!

 

Lynda.com is a constantly growing library of more than 1400 courses and instructional 82,000 videos in streaming video format. Subjects covered range from 3D + Animation; Audio; Business including Office and Google software; Design; Developer; Photography and Video; and Web and social media. Videos use screenshots, narration, live action, smart boards, charts and graphics, audio and include captioning.
Note: You will need to register with your monash university email address

 

Finding Concert Reviews

 

Music

This guide contains selected resources for students and staff of the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music. The Matheson Library (Clayton), which includes the Music and Multimedia Collection, supports study and research in this area.

Music, sound recordings and performances are protected by copyright - for more information on how to use music or get protection for your own music/performance go to Using music in teaching and research.

Related subject pages: Art, Communications, DesignJournalism, Literature in English, Multimedia and digital arts

 

Library Services

Librarians can help you with:

  • how and where to start researching your topic
  • effective use of databases and the Internet
  • finding and evaluating information
  • using the Library's collections

Learning skills advisers assist students improve their academic language and approaches to learning, including:

  • academic English
  • study methods and exam preparation
  • effective listening and note-taking
  • problem-solving and critical thinking
  • reading strategies
  • essay, report and thesis writing
  • oral communication and presentation

Drop-in sessions with learning skills advisers are offered at all Library branches and run from Week 2 to Week 14 (except non-teaching week).

Contact Copyright Advisers for inquiries relating to copyright. Email: University.Copyright@monash.edu. Further information on copyright is at the following links:

 

Contacts

Librarian 

Learning Skills Advisers

 

Help

Need to ask a question? 
ask.monash

Or phone +61 3 9905 5054

 

Suggest a Purchase

Let us know if you would like any books, music scores, CDs or DVDs added to our collection.

Please email your contact librarian

     

    Popular Sheet Music Collection in Rare Books

    The Popular Sheet Music Collection in Rare Books includes over 10,000 popular sheet music titles. A Finding List is available.

    Star dust / by Hoagy Carmichael ; piano transcription by James Matté. (New York : Mills Music, 1930, c1929). "Star Dust" began as an instrumental, "Barnyard Shuffle." The lyrics were added in 1929 by Mitchell Parish. The most widely covered song of the twentieth century, Nat King Cole’s 1957 version is perhaps the best. The song ends with the words, "My stardust melody, the memory of love’s refrain."

    Most of the music dates from 1900 to 1970 but includes  a substantial number of examples from the nineteenth century. It is representative of the many and varied forms of music that have been popular, including show tunes, jazz, dance, etc. from Great Britain, the United States and Australia. Much of the collection are popular songs from overseas that have been published in Australia and feature Australian stage performers' portraits on the covers.

    Catalogue of the Exhibition of sheet music from the Rare Books Collection, Stardust Melodies

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip