Browse the shelves
ThesesUsing EndNoteAlert services
This is the "Home" page of the "Australian Indigenous Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Australian Indigenous Studies   Tags: aboriginal, australian, indigenous  

Resources for students of Australian Indigenous Studies and assistance with essay writing and academic learning skills
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.monash.edu/australian-indigeneous-studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Indigenous student services


Monash Univesity support for current and prospective indigenous students

New Resources

NEW RESOURCES

NEW ***Overcoming Indigenous disadvantage: key indicators 2014

This is the sixth report in the Overcoming Indigenous Disadvantage (OID) series. The OID report serves as a public report card on progress in overcoming Indigenous  disadvantage. .

Knowledge Exchange   is the term the Lowitja Institute uses to describe the complex series of interactions between their researchers and the users of their research that will lead to better outcomes in the health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Australian PolicyOnline-Indigenous section

Australian Indigenous health-communication skills

Australian Indigenous Film and Television Digital Bibliography

 Report on Government Services 2014: Indigenous Compendium

  Top ten Indigenous research publications 2013

 Indigenous Affairs: A quick guide to key Internet links

 Report on Government Services 2014: Indigenous Compendium

Culture, not colour, is the heart of Aboriginal identity

Economic value of Aboriginal community controlled health services

2012 Boyer Lectures   The Quiet Revolution: Indigenous People and the Resources Boom

 

Manamidh mirrambiina ngangalinga (Welcome)

Australian Indigenous Studies is taught at the Clayton campus.The historical, social and political aspects of Australian Indigenous societies are studied including current Indigenous issues and debates on matters of national importance such as land rights and reconciliation,  and the historical and contemporary relationships between Indigenous Australians and the wider society

Depending on your topic you may also need to refer to resources in these related pages.

Related guides: Anthropology; Art History; Holocaust and genocide studies; Politics; Sociology; Women's and gender studies

 

Library help

Librarians can help you with:

  • how and where to start researching your topic
  • effective use of databases and the internet
  • finding and evaluating information
  • using the Library's collections

Contact librarian:

Library tutorials

Search Help: how to find library resources

 

Learning skills help

Learning skills advisers assist students in improving their academic language and approaches to learning, including:

  • academic English
  • study methods and exam preparation
  • effective listening and note-taking
  • problem-solving and critical thinking
  • reading strategies
  • essay, report and thesis writing
  • writing for research projects
  • oral communication and presentation

Learning skills advisers:


Assignment writing

 

A traditional map

Museum Victoria

Lake Condah Possum Skin Cloak, before 1872, (image courtesy of Museum Victoria, Indigenous collection)

 

Arts Research and Learning Skills

Arts Research and learning skills  Moodle site

Register to access a huge range of tutorials on Essay writing skills, presentation skills, time management , Information research skills and more 

 

The Library has more than you think!

The Library has much more than study books eg the Music and Multimedia collection has items relevant to your course - documentaries, films and music. The database TVNews has TV Broadcasts of all key news and  current affairs programs.

Informit Edu TV  provides  access to 10,000 programs; includes  searchable database ofdocumentaries, drama, series and more, from broadcast and pay TV; Archive of programs from 2006 - with up to 80 new programs added weekly; programs classified by subject areas; Clip creation and sharing functional

  

The Library is your portal to the information multiverse.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip