Cochrane LibraryEBSCOhostEI Engineering VillageEMBASEEmeraldGaleGoogle ScholarInformitISI Web of knowledgeJSTORLibrary SearchNewsBankOCLCOT SeekerOVIDPEDroProject MUSEProQuestPubMedSciFinderScopus
Add files as favouritesEdit filter files
Configuration instructionsHow to find full text
Using EndNote onlineISI Web of KnowledgeEndNote online and WordEndNote online and EndNote Desktop
Synchronising your desktop and online librariesWorking between computersUsing Online Search
Register for EndNote OnlineAdding references to your libraryOrganising and sharing your referencesCreating a reference list from EndNote OnlineUsing EndNote Online with MS Word
This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote   Tags: bibliographic software, endnote  

This software package for managing references (citations) is available free to Monash University students and staff. This guide has information about working with EndNote in the Monash University environment.
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.monash.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What's in this guide

 

About

EndNote software logo

EndNote is a database tool that:

  • stores bibliographic details of the material that you have read for your assignments and theses
  • imports details of material that you have found, in the library catalogue and other databases and catalogues
  • automatically creates citations, references and bibliographies for your assignments in your required style
  • support and/or integrates with common word processor and file formats eg RTF, HTML, etc

The latest version of EndNote (X7) is available for download from the Obtain EndNote tab for Monash staff and students.

EndNote Online is the web-based version of EndNote. EndNote Online has similar, but more restricted, functionality than the standard (desktop) version. In addition, EndNote Online provides:

  • access to EndNote libraries from anywhere
  • synchronization of EndNote desktop libraries to enable working between computers
  • for sharing of libraries with other researchers.

Refer to the EndNote Online Basic and Advanced tabs in this guide for further details.

IMPORTANT NOTE FOR NON-MONASH USERS:

EndNote is commercial software. Monash University cannot make copies available to you. The manufacturers of EndNote are Thomson ResearchSoft and the Australian distributors are Crandon Services Pty Ltd.

Training

 

Help

On your computer (Windows): Start > All Programs > EndNote > Getting started guide (PDF 96pp)

endnote.com

Adept Scientific

EndNote Web can also be used to share libraries

News

New update available

EndNote X7 for both Windows and Mac has received a major update to version 7.1. Be sure to run the "check fo updates" option from within the program.

 

Managing citations and references

It is important that you understand how citations and references are used in academic writings.

The library has produced an online guide to citing and referencing which includes examples of different types of references and styles.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip