Red Hmong-Sapa Vietnam photography Sue Little
New** Tibetan eText Repository . The eText repository is a collaborative effort between Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) and many publishers, authors and institutions to archive and make available a large corpus of searchable Tibetan texts.
Cultural Survival works toward a world in which Indigenous Peoples speak their languages, live on their land, control their resources, maintain thriving cultures, and participate in broader society on equal footing with other peoples. We provide advocacy to amplify Indigenous voices around the world and provide support of their efforts to strengthen communities.
Tip: strategies for finding ethnographies
Ethnology is the standard subject heading used by cataloguers to index ethnographies, so it is a good term to use when searching eg San ethnology
Social life is another useful term to use eg bali "social life"
For more detail select the Ethnographies tab from the top menu bar
This guide will introduce you to resources in the Monash University Library for Anthropoplogy, and provide assistance with essay writing and other academic learning skills. Anthropology is the study of human cultural diversity through space and time, and is very cross disciplinary in nature. Depending on your topic you may also need to refer to resources in these related pages.
Librarians and Learning skills advisers
Librarians can help you with:
- how and where to start researching your topic
- effective use of databases and the internet
- finding and evaluating information
- using the Library's collections
Contact librarian: Susan Little (Matheson Library)
Learning skills advisers assist students in improving their academic language and approaches to learning, including:
- academic English
- study methods and exam preparation
- effective listening and note-taking
- problem-solving and critical thinking
- reading strategies
- essay, report and thesis writing
- writing for research projects
- oral communication and presentation
Learning skills Advisers: Matheson Library
Red Hmong-Sapa Vietnam photo by Sue Little
Blackwell reference online
search over 300 reference works
Gale virtual reference library
search encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources
For more Anthropology dictionaries and encyclopedia see the Reference works tab at the top of this page
Streamed Television content
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and instantly watch relevant television content. 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone.
Ethnographic Video Online
Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films online in streaming video. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.