Searching databases
Learn to search Factiva
Key Behavioural Studies Databases
Not all individual journal articles are locatable in Library SEARCH. To undertake more comprehensive research on a topic you will need to search an electronic database. Some databases will provide the full text of articles, others will provide only the abstract or summary. In many cases you can link to the full text by clicking the Check for Full Text option.
Listed below are databases that may be useful to your Behavioural studies research. Alternatively you can browse all Monash databases.
- International bibliography of the social sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIBSS includes millions of bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
- Lynda.comAll users are required to register via Monash University library site, using only their Monash University email address. NO other email account, eg. gmail or hotmail email, can be used for lynda.com registration.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowBrowser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research. - Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) via Web of Science This link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1800+ of the world's leading arts and humanities journals across 28 arts & humanities disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Coverage is from 1975 to the present.
Other recommended databases
- Australian criminology database (Informit) This link opens in a new windowThis bibliographic database indexes and abstracts articles from primarily Australian published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime, criminal justice and criminology, including corrections, crime prevention, criminal law, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime.
- Criminal justice abstracts with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive full text database from Ebsco covers: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
- Web of science. Current contents connect This link opens in a new windowTo search in, select from Web of Science core collection dropdown
Multidisciplinary in scope, this database provides complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from thousands of leading scholarly journals. Also includes a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access to evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities.
News and social commentaries
Australian Policy Online (APO) is a wonderful research focused website which includes many new reports on social issues concerning Australia and the world in general. It is updated weekly
The Monthly - Video comprises discussions, debates, lectures on Australian political, social and cultural issues. It is a new median in providing relevant political content, linked to The Monthly magazine
Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching
Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.