Skip to content

Digital images: Image collections

This guide provides links to image databases and resources to help you find and effectively use digital images in your scholarly work.

Image database subscriptions (restricted to Monash)

artstor logo

Monash University Library subscribes to ARTstor which contains more than 1,000,000 digital images. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images. The images are copyright cleared for use in the educational context.

Australian images

 
 Image courtesy: Wikimedia Commons

Gateways to image collections

Gallery, library and museum collections

Some of these sites offer resources that are only free for certain uses. Always read the terms of use or licence restrictions for any file you are considering using.

What's new

Image from page 177 of "Oconeean" (1903)

The Internet Archive, already well-loved by many art historians as a source of high quality online versions of many out-of-print books, has a new project to make images from the uploaded books available online via Flickr. Read more...

'Free' image collections

Some of these sites offer resources that are only free for certain uses. Always read the terms of use or licence restrictions for any file you are considering using.

Commercial image collections

You will need to register with each of these suppliers.

There are various payment models:

  • Subscription based which allow you to download and re-use royalty-free resources during the life of your subscription
  • pay-as-you-go services where you buy credits in advance to use against fixed price royalty-free downloads
  • the more expensive rights-managed, where the price depends on its intended use and exclusivity

Royalty free (RF) = the right to use copyrighted material (copyright licence) without the need to pay for each use or a time period of use.
Rights-managed (RM) = a copyright licence which allows a one-time use only.

Major players are Corbis and Getty Images.