Skip to content

Education: Databases and journal articles

Key databases

ERIC and Scopus are the key databases for research in the Faculty of Education.

You may also find this comprehensive list of databases for Education relevant.

See below for databases that may complement your use of ERIC and Scopus for specific subjects

PsycInfo is an indexed database of scholarly articles relevant to Counselling, with links to fulltext from Monash Library. You can add filters such as date or population or age. Learn to use PsycINFO with this interactive online tutorial.

Try the interactive online tutorial for searching PsycINFO               (Text version of the PsycINFO tutorial).

Alerting services assist researchers in keeping up-to-date with current literature in a discipline.

There various types of Search Alerts;

  • Saved Search Alerts
  • TOC (Table of Contents) Alerts
  • Citation Alerts
  • Author alerts

 Saved Search Alerts

A Saved Search Alert is an actual search which you have saved in a specific database, for example, ERIC.

Your saved search is run against new articles added to the database on a scheduled cycle which can vary from daily, weekly, fortnightly to monthly. Results, i.e. "hits" are returned to you via a nominated email address. The actual results sent back can vary from database to database, however, in general the standard details are, full citation data, abstract and (where applicable) the URL to the full text.

Searches can be saved for a period of up to 12 months or more, depending on the database. Your Saved Searches can be edited, amended or deleted at any time you choose.

Different databases provide different limits as to the maximum number of Saved Searches available to you.

You need a Personal Account in each database where you set Saved Search Alerts.

 TOC (Table of Contents) Alerts

TOC, i.e. Table of Contents Alerts, are Journal Title specific.

That is, you select a specific Journal title (or titles) and when a new Issue of this Journal is added to the database the article contents for that Issue are emailed to you.

You must have a Personal Account in each database/company where you have TOC Alerts.

 Citation Alerts

A Citation Alert can be set up for either an individual Author (or Authors) or a specific Journal article.

When the Author is cited in the Bibliography or Reference List of another article, as subsequently added to the same database, you are emailed the details of the Citing Article.

A Citation Alert for a specific Journal article works in the same way. When the primary article is cited in the Bibliography or Reference List of another article, as subsequently added to the same database, you are emailed the details of the Citing Article.

You need a Personal Account in each database where you have Citation Alerts.

Author alerts

Most databases have a process where by you can be notified when an author publishes an article in sources cowered by thatdatabase.

 

Loading

Key journals

Please click on the above tabs: Teaching, TESOL, Leadership and Psychology to access journals in those areas.

Academic research requires students to consult high quality resources, including peer-reviewed journal articles. To learn more click on the icon below to do the 'What is peer review' quick tutorial

   What is peer revew?

Icon of a question mark

 

Loading

Online Tutorials for ERIC

Click on the icons below for help on finding and managing your resources using ERIC and Endnote.

  Part 1: Finding scholarly articles - ERIC    Part 2: Manage your research - ERIC
Icon of organised files

Quick tips on database searching