Electrical and computer systems engineering: Databases

resources useful to the department of Electrical and computer systems engineering

A-Z library databases

See a complete list of databases arranged alphabetically and by subject.

Full text format

The two main formats of full text are html and pdf.

html: loads quickly but there is no page numbering

pdf: includes the original page numbering which is useful when you cite the reference. However, it can be slow to print.

Library links

Related pages

Click the tabs above for databases containing the following:

  • Patents
  • Standards and
  • Theses

Current affairs databases

Key Full-text journal collections

Full-text journal collections allow keyword searching of articles, abstracts, subject headings/descriptors, and the full-text of articles as well.

Key Electrical engineering journal collections

CollectionAbout the collection
ACM Digital library full text collection of journals and proceedings published by ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) since the 1950's. Subjects include: automotive engineering, electronic engineering, and electrical engineering.
IEEE Xplore a full-text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering provided by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and The Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Key databases

Databases provide access to the contents of journal articles, conference papers, these, patents and other information sources. They form the basis of, or add greater depth to your research. Most of databases provide links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. Content not available in full text online may be held in the library in hard copy.

Databases allow keyword searching of article titles, abstracts, and subject headings / descriptors.

Full-text journal collections

Full-text journal collections allow keyword searching of articles, abstracts, subject headings/descriptors, and the full-text of articles as well.

Collection About the collection
IEEE Xplore A full-text database in the disciplines of electrical and electronics engineering provided by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and The Institution of Electrical Engineers
Informaworld The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis
ScienceDirect Scientific, technical and medical information online published by Elsevier. It includes peer-reviewed journals, book series, and reference works
Scitation

Provides full-text access to journals published and distributed by the American Institute of Physics as well as Acoustical Society of America journals

SPIE Digital Library SPIE is the International Society for Optical Engineering. The Digital Library includes over 100 ebooks, six refereed journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually. Subject areas include optics, photonics, and imaging engineering

SpringerLink

provides full-text access to Springer journals and book series. Subject coverage includes engineering, and mathematics

Wiley InterScience provides full-text to Wiley journals, e-books, and major reference work.Subject coverage includes engineering, medicine and science

Find journals

Search for journal titles in the library catalogue use the Advanced search option and select Journal. Enter the first words of the title in exact order.

Use the library databases to search the contents of journals quickly and efficiently.

Journals not held by Monash University

Register as a CAVAL borrower and visit other Victorian University and TAFE libraries. Postgraduate- and 4th year students can register to use Document Delivery to request the loan of books not held by Monash University Library.