EndNote: Web of Science - all databases

This software package for managing references (citations) is available free to Monash University students and staff. This guide has information about working with EndNote in the Monash University environment.

Database to EndNote instructions

Web of Science - all databases includes the following databases and more:

  • Web of Science core collection, which includes:
    • Science citation index expanded (1900- present)
    • Social sciences citation index (1900 to present)
    • Arts & humanities citation index (1975 to present)
    • Conference proceedings citation index- Science (1990 to present)
    • Conference proceedings citation index - Social science & humanities (1990 to present)
    • Book citation index - science (2005 to present)
    • Book citation index - Social sciences & humanities (2005 to present)
    • Current chemical reactions (1985 to present)
    • Index Chemicus (1993 to present)
  • Current contents
  • Data citation index
  • Medline
  • SciELO citation indexes
  • Alerts (see specific instructions below)
    • Current Contents Connect
    • Web of Science
  • Journal Citation Reports

Adding records to EndNote library:

Direct export

  1. Mark desired records (or, "Select Page", or, select up to 500 records) 
  2. Click the Add to Marked List button
  3. When ready to export, click the Marked List link
    WoS-marked-list
  4. Select all fields including Abstract
  5. Select Save to EndNote desktop from the drop-down menu
    WoS-export
  6. Endnote should launch automatically. Or choose the Open option if prompted.
  7. Select a library and select Open. The references should now be displayed in the EndNote Library.

Back to top

Import via filter file

  1. Mark desired records (or, "Select Page", or, select up to 500 records) 
  2. Click the Add to Marked List button
  3. Click the Marked List link (see first figure above)
  4. Select all fields including Abstract
  5. Select Save to Other File Formats from the drop-down menu
  6. Choose Plain Text from the File Format drop-down menu in the Send to File box that pops up. Click Send

    choose plain text file format
  7. Records are automatically generated in a text file. Save the file and give it a name as appropriate (e.g. results.txt)
    Records may be automatically saved to he "downloads" folder on your PC.
  8. Open EndNote and select a library (File-Open)
  9. From the menu bar, select File-Import-Files...
  10. An Import box opens:
    • Import data file: select Choose File and select file from Step 7
    • Import Option: pull down menu and select Other filters. Locate the appropriate filter ISI-CE
    • Duplicates: select appropriate option from pull down menu
    • Text Translation: leave option as No Translation
  11. Select Importwos-import
  12. Records should be imported and displayed in Imported References

Back to top

Connecting from Endnote to Web of Science databases

This is generally not recommended in Web of Science as Cited Reference Searching is not available as a search option.

  1. Switch to Online Search Mode (Temporary Library) in EndNote 
  2. From Endnote toolbar select Tools - Online search, or, click "more..." as in the figure below
    WoS-connect
  3. Select the appropriate Web of Science connection file from the list and select Choose. The search tab opens.
  4. Perform the search. Results will be placed the "Online References" group. 
  5. Go through the list of results and highlight the ones you wish to keep. (Hold down the Ctrl key for multiple selections)
  6. From the EndNote menu, select References-Copy References and choose your library. Or click the Copy to Local Library icon copy to local library icon.
  7. Switch to Local Library Mode to close the connection local library mode icon

Back to top